Spooky! Scary!, Young Adult

Paranormal Baddies: Ghosts

paranormal baddies

Ghost are… well… um… not really my favorite paranormal baddie. I guess because, with the exception of a few books, they aren’t really “around” to be scared of. Like I don’t think it’s the actual ghost people are scared of, but the intense suspense that surrounds them. You can’t normally see them, you don’t know when they’ll attack… they’re like the stealthiest of all the paranormal baddies.

ghost

When it comes to ghost stories (or books) I feel like we don’t really get to know the ghost very much. Like it’s more about the suspense that goes with either hunting the ghost or spotting the ghost or being haunted by the ghost… we get more of the bumps in the night instead of the actual thing that makes the bump.

ghosts

Something I do like about ghosts, and wish I could see more of it, is when we get to know them as people. Like they’re not just scary, haunting manifestations (?) but the spirit of a deceased person who has a reason for not moving on. I like when they’re humanized – much like I like when any baddie is humanized – because unlike other baddies, they aren’t a human who has been turned into a monster. They’re a human who can’t move on, who has unfinished business, who has a reason for being a ghost.

Ghost-002

Sometimes… that reason can be even scarier than the ghost.

ghostdad_cover

There are some great YA books out there that feature ghosts! I’ve linked my own reviews to the ones I’ve read. Feel free to let me know if you’ve read and reviewed any of these; I’ll add your link to it!

School Spirits – Rachel Hawkins

Texas Gothic– Rosemary Clement-Moore

Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake

Spirit and Dust – Rosemary Clement-Moore

 

3 thoughts on “Paranormal Baddies: Ghosts”

  1. I recently did a review for Anna Dressed in Blood. Such an interesting ghost story 🙂 You can view it here if you like: http://chapterbreak.wordpress.com/2013/09/20/anna-dressed-in-blood-review/

    I was just trying to see if I could come up with other YA books with ghosts in them but I can’t think of that many, which means I need to add more to my TBR. Here are some that I have read:
    ~Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey
    ~Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires #1) by Rachel Caine
    ~Ruined by Paula Morris – really cool New Orleans ghostie tale
    ~The Graveyard Book (maybe more MG though than YA) by Neil Gaiman
    I did a search and found this listopia on Goodreads so I thought I’d share https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/12605.Young_Adult_Ghost_Stories

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

