Spooky! Scary!, Young Adult

Paranormal Baddies: Witches

paranormal baddies

Although they’re often thought of as the scary bad guys, as I’ve learned from Buffy the Vampire Slayer witches being evil “is ridiculous cause witches they were persecuted, and Wicca, good and loved the earth, and woman power, and I’ll be over here.” (Someone please justify this pop culture reference so I don’t sit here feeling dumb)

In paranormal YA, witches AREN’T necessarily the scary, warty, luring children into their scary domain, cackling over a steaming cauldron. In fact, witchcraft is often given a slapstick take as we see young witches learning about their powers and abilities while still trying to deal with the happenings of every day life. Think Sabrina the Teenage Witch with a little lot more depth.

Out of all the paranormal “baddies” that seem to be prevalent in YA, witches are one of my favorites to read. I think the idea of magic is what interests me the most, but what makes it unique is that with witchcraft there seems to be rules. And they aren’t just made up ones… they have to do with physics and nature… sciencey stuff. If high school was divided into paranormal beings, clearly the nerd table would be made up of witches.

There are some great YA books out there that feature witches! I’ve linked my own reviews to the ones I’ve read. Feel free to let me know if you’ve read and reviewed any of these; I’ll add your link to it!

Hex Hall – Rachel Hawkins

Born Wicked – Jessica Spotswood

Star Cursed – Jessica Spotswood

What the Spell? – Brittany Geragotelis

The Near Witch – Victoria Schwab

Weather Witch – Shannon Delaney

7 thoughts on “Paranormal Baddies: Witches”

  1. You know, I’ve haven’t read a ton of books about witches. I think they’re interesting, but they aren’t the huge draw ghost stories are for me. Of course I’ve read HP, and I’ve also read Jinx by Meg Cabot. But I think that’s it. Oh wait, I have read The Worst Witch which is a children’s book. They made a movie of it years and years ago, and Tim Curry was a supporting character. Have you ever seen that?

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

