Young Adult

Interview with Allison at The Cheap Reader

Today I have Allison from The Cheap Reader on the blog today! If you haven’t visited her blog, DO SO NOW! She’s one of my favorites! Something I totally love about her blog is that she does this feature called “Hidden in the Shelves” where she features a book she’s found… you guessed it… hidden in the shelves. It’s really interesting and she always find some unique book! Anywho… I hope you’ll check out her interview today AND pop over to her blog to check it out!

 

  1. Tell us about yourself and your blog
    Hi! I’m Alison and I blog over at The Cheap Reader. I started blogging the summer of 2011. I was just wrapping up my college classes and was unsure of what to do with all of my new found ‘spare’ time. I had always read so I thought it might be fun to blog and keep track of all the books I’d be reading.
  2. Who are some of your favorite bloggers and what makes them special?
    Anastasia at Here There Be Booksย  is my oldest and number 1 blogging friend. We actually went to school together!ย  Somehow I had come across her book blog and started following it and commenting. I had figured out that she looked familiar because we had taken a class a few semesters before so we started bonding over our love of reading. She actually pushed me to start my own book blog. So basically thank her if you enjoy my blog. ๐Ÿ˜› Besides all that, we have similar tastes in books so I always enjoy reading her thoughts on books.Brittany at The Book Addictโ€™s Guide, Quinn at Quinn’s Book Nook, and you, Candice, are also among my favorites. All three of these ladies are pretty awesome. They have great reviews and other types of posts. Even though I don’t “know” them, I feel like I do because their personalities really shine through in their posts. Not to mention, they’re pretty awesome to talk to and bounce ideas off of. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. What book are you reading at the moment? Tell us what youโ€™re thinking of it so far.
    I’m reading Tigerheart by Peter David at the moment. It’s a Peter Pan-esque story for Classics Retold. I’m not sure how I like it so far. I know it’s supposed to be like Peter Pan but names and things have been changed. It’s really quite odd.
  4. Growing up, what was your favorite book that you read?
    I know it’s cliche but Harry Potter. I discovered the magic in 5th grade and never looked back. It really reignited my passion for reading. It still does. If I ever feel burnt out on reading, picking up one of the books will get me out of my funk.
  5. Tells us about your favorite book genres and recommend some books for us!
    I do dabble in reading different genres but fantasy/science fiction is what’s close to my heart and where I end up most of the time. Reading is an escape to me. Grown up life is pretty boring and mundane to be perfectly honest. I want to travel to far away lands or far away times. I’m able to do that with fantasy/science fiction. Here are a few of my favorites:

    The Chaos Walking books by Patrick Ness are some of the best science fiction books I’ve ever read. It’s sci-fi without it being too in your face.
    The Graceling books by Kristin Cashore are some really good fantasy books. I’ve never been a fan of high fantasy but these books make me reconsider that.
  6. Which fictional character would you want to go on a first date with?
    I’d love to go on a first date with Hector from the Girl of Fire and Thorns series. He’s strong, loyal, and would know how to treat a lady right. What’s not to love about that?
  7. Which fictional character would you want to be BFFs with?
    Finding a literary BFF has always been difficult for me. I meet lots of awesome people but I’ve never totally clicked with anyone. That has FINALLY changed! Ruby Oliver would definitely someone I could be BFFs with. We’re both down to earth and a little weird.

  8. Tell us something unique about your blog โ€“ anything that you think makes it special.
    I think it’s pretty unique that my blog doesn’t fit too neatly into one category. I’ve always said that it’s a reading journal more than a review blog. For the most part, I read what I want, when I want. I really like that freedom. As a result you can see all kinds of books on my blog: classics that I’m trying for the first time, huge new YA books, a good portion of Roald Dahl’s books, other interesting books that I’ve found hidden at the library, books I’m rereading from childhood. When you stop by, you’ll find something a bit different than you’ll see on other book blogs.

Bonus: Anything exciting going on? Upcoming giveaways? Projects? Interviews? Whatโ€™s happening in your blog world?
In September I’m co-hosting Classics Retoldย  with several other bloggers. The basic idea is all the bloggers participating picked a classic book to read, watched and read adaptions of the classic, and will be posting reviews and other goodies about their classic in September. We’re covering everything from mythology to Jane Eyre to Peter Pan.

5 thoughts on “Interview with Allison at The Cheap Reader”

  1. Fun interview, ladies! It’s nice to learn more about the person behind the blog. I like the eclectic feel of The Cheap Reader. Blogging is more fun when you let yourself read what you want ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

