Mythology

Classics Retold: Troy (and Brad Pitt’s butt)

ClassicsRetold

First off… I am SOOOO excited about this! After participating in The Cheap Reader’s Project: Fairy Tale, I knew I HAD to participate in her newest endeavor! This one, however, is so much bigger and it’s hosted by several other of my favorite bloggers!

Alrighty… let’s get started!

troy poster 

Troy is a movie loosely based on The Iliad. I say loosely because while it actually IS the Iliad, it takes quite a few liberties with certain aspects of the poem.

I should start this “review” out by saying that Troy was my go to “first date” movie in college. Mostly because a) I really did like it and b) if the guy wasn’t that interesting, there was lots of shots of Brad Pitt’s butt – which is truly the star of this film I must say.

troy-560

This adaptation focuses, in my opinion, on the various loves within The Iliad. Not just romantic ones, but those between friends, family, brothers, fathers, sons, country, kingdom… Each relationship is so meticulously shown so you feel the loss and the pain when it’s felt by the characters. While I know the relationships are THERE in the poem, I loved seeing them expanded on in the movie; they seemed much deeper.

Helen Paris

One of my absolute favorite scenes is when King Priam (of Troy) goes to Achilles (who has killed Priam’s son Hector) to ask for his son’s body. There’s this fine balance between hatred and respect that goes between them. And yes, it’s Peter O’Tool so honestly, you can’t get better acting than this, but there is such defeat in this scene, on both sides. It breaks my heart every single time I watch it.

troy2

Which brings me to my next point… oh the heart break in this movie! As I’m sure you can guess, there’s lots of death in it. Pretty much all the good characters die. And while those scenes are pretty awful, what’s even more heart wrenching is seeing characters’ reactions to those deaths. There are some that… oh, I’m getting misty just thinking about them!

troy3

The one thing that I felt was missing was the gods’ interaction with the war. Which I guess made the whole thing more historically accurate or whatever, but I really do wonder how that would have changed my perceptions of this movie. Guess we’ll never know.

Oh yes!!!
Oh yes!!!

And now for one of FAVORITE parts of this movie… THE QUOTES! It is chock full of them.

Glaucus: [the Appolonians are making their last stand] Soldiers of Troy! You men are warriors! To lead you has been my honor!

[to Paris]

Glaucus: My prince! The boatman waits for us! I say, we make him wait a little longer!

Priam: I have endured what no one on earth has endured before. I kissed the hands of the man who killed my son.

Priam: I loved my boy from the moment he opened his eyes until the moment you closed them.

Achilles: I’ll tell you a secret. Something they don’t teach you in your temple. The Gods envy us. They envy us because we’re mortal, because any moment might be our last. Everything is more beautiful because we’re doomed. You will never be lovelier than you are now. We will never be here again.

troy

Has anyone seen this movie? Thoughts?

Stay tuned for more Classics Retold and The Iliad!

 

6 thoughts on “Classics Retold: Troy (and Brad Pitt’s butt)”

  1. I watched this movie during my Orlando Bloom obsession stage, and I was sad there was not more of him in it. I remember still liking it, though there were some pretty gory moments, and probably some things that were too old for me at the time.

    Like

    1. Ha.. yeah, I was old enough when it came out and still cringed a few times. I went to see it with my mom though… which, let’s just say, led to some uncomfortable moments!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

