Fantasy, Young Adult

I’m your Venus…

Goddess by Josephine Angelini

goddess

The Skinny: After accidentally unleashing the gods from their captivity on Olympus, Helen must find a way to re-imprison them without starting a devastating war. But the gods are angry, and their thirst for blood already has a body count.

To make matters worse, the Oracle reveals that a diabolical Tyrant is lurking among them, which drives a wedge between the once-solid group of friends. As the gods use the Scions against one another, Lucas’s life hangs in the balance. Still unsure whether she loves him or Orion, Helen is forced to make a terrifying decision, for war is coming to her shores. – From Goodreads

BFF?: Oh Helen… where do I begin? You started out as this odd, annoying, person and really became this badass heroine. But… you kind of took the low road getting there. Throughout Goddess Helen kind of got extremely focused on her new powers and abilities, which didn’t sit well with her friends. It was hard watching her go through it because her change was a difficult one. I don’t know if she handled it in the best way possible, but she handled it nonetheless. It’s been an interesting journey following Helen’s growth, one that I’m glad I’ve taken!

Readability: This was actually a really good final chapter to the series! I liked that it didn’t only focus on Helen and gave us a chance to see other characters. The writing really felt good and helped me to get back into the series easily.

Crush Level: 6
I’m not really sure who I was supposed to develop a crush on. I’ve gone through this journey with all the boys and they all have their own special qualities. Lucas stopped doing it for me in Dreamless, and we all know my love of Hector, but one of the characters I enjoyed crushing on this time around was Orion. He was just this jokey fun guy in Dreamless, but in Goddess he really became deeper and more developed – I loved learning more about him and his history, seeing how he grew as a character.. I might have developed a tiny crush on him!

Commencement Speech: Back when I got a copy of Dreamless, I was really nervous about this series. I did a reread of Starcrossed before reading Dreamless, and I just wasn’t really convinced that this was the series for me. It had lost that special something I had found with Starcrossed the first time I read it.

But… wanting to make absolutely sure I was up for reading Goddess, I did a reread of both Starcrossed and Dreamless. Either I changed or the books had changed because wow. I found my love for this series again. Needless to say, I was pumped going into Goddess. And that pumpedness didn’t fade! Sure, there were some parts where I shook my head at Helen, tsk tsked her actions… but overall, this was such an EPIC ending to this series.

Just like an great Greek drama, this book was filled with backstabbing, lies, taking sides, epic battles… There was action aplenty, but oh so much more than that! I think we finally got to see the roots of all our characters, good and bad, and find out who they really are deep down. I loved the conclusion and feel like it ended on quite the high note!

Yearbook Quote: “I really don’t care if he’s my cousin anymore.”

Superlatives – Best opportunity for Henry Cavil to star as the swoony Hector!!!

Like this post? You may like these too:

crown of midnight    dreamless    goddess inheritance

3 thoughts on “I’m your Venus…”

  1. I actually liked book 1 and 3 best in this series, book 2 with the focus on the Underworld and the loss of Lucas was a low point for me. The guys JA writes are definitely swoon worthy! And I detected hints of a fourth book at the conclusion to this one… I know it was originally meant to be a trilogy, but… What do you think – would you read a fourth book?

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

