Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult

Dream until your dream come true

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

dream thieves

The Skinny: Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after. – From Goodreads

BFF?: When I finished The Raven Boys I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about Blue. On the one hand, totally love her. Think she’s exciting and unpredictable, but not in a wild and crazy kind of way. I really think she’s sharp and a huge asset to not only her family, but the boys as well. I just hate that she doesn’t recognize this. But now.. on the other… I can’t quite get a feel for her. I can’t quite understand what’s going on in her head, what her angle is, and what she’s really about. I love that there’s this mystery about her.

But, this series isn’t about Blue. It’s about several people. It’s about Gansey and Ronan and Adam and Noah… it’s about their families, their enemies… it’s hard to nail down one character to understand, to focus on. And while normally this is HELL trying to find a BFF in a book, with The Dream Thieves, it kind of works. It’s like being introduced to several different people all at once and letting them invade your life all at once in a completely non-overwhelming way.

Readability: My friend Brittany made the comment on her review about how she feels Steifvater’s writing is a bit over her head… Uh, yeah. It’s over mine too. Like I GET it and it’s pretty straightforward, but there’s an underlying feeling that there’s MORE to it. Like there’s a deeper level that at times… I felt was lost on me. It didn’t take away from the reading one bit though; I kind of liked how in the dark I was on some things!

Crush Level: 5
I kind of really really want to love Ronan and Adam… but just don’t. And Gansey… oh, Gansey brought the swoons this time around. I’m not going to lie, I was totally charmed by him. Which I know is a cop out because everyone is charmed by him. However, the real winner of this crush level totally goes to Noah. Look. I don’t care that he’s basically (spoiler alert) a firm ghost. I don’t care that he was killed some odd years ago and only comes in and out of the world whenever a lay line is active. There’s one scene that made me smile and curl my toes over him. No, I won’t go into details because I think it might just be me, but it was super swoony.

Bonus Points
The Gray Man
gandalf the grey
This illusive character popped up at the beginning of the book and would not let me go. Seriously, I think I spent more time trying to figure out who he was than what he was looking for. In the end, I still don’t think I got my answer, but was pleasantly shocked at just how big a part of this book he played. He was evil and meticulous, but at the same time I felt something for him… pity, respect, admiration, fear… I’m not really sure.

Night Horrors (maybe a little spoilery)
shadow beast
In Ronan’s dreams he has these monsters that try to kill him. It was really hard to picture them at first, because I feel like maybe they were supposed to be giant ravens, but then something about them hit me: they remind me of those terrifying monsters in Zelda that you have to fight when you’re a wolf. (Lord I’m a nerd)

Commencement Speech: Like most of Steifvater’s books, this was not an exciting thrill ride. It was a slow burn, a building story that didn’t come to fruition until the very last few chapters. I swear I spent the first 40 chapters in a state of confusion. But none of that mattered. There’s something so enchanting about this series, that picking up the book felt like coming home to Blue and Gansey and Ronan… While those may seem like flowery words (and yes, they kind of are) I adored spending time with them on their quest. Which, oddly enough, has become more than just a search for the mythical Welsh king. It’s become a quest to deal with each of their own demons, to confront who they are and who they’re meant to become. These characters are so rich and unique without feeling completely foreign. I love how they weave together and their lives have crossed paths. We get to see more of Ronan in The Dream Thieves and learn more about where he comes from and what he is. In a way, these things are scary and beautiful, but make me horrified of what he COULD become. Adam is another character who has begun to terrify me… again, because of what he is. I’m still not sure exactly what that is… but I’m fearful of what it’s going to turn into.

This was a sloooooowwwwww book. It gets into your core, enthralls you into thinking what if. I was kept guessing, wondering, plotting. Towards the end my heart raced as I watched each of the characters move in different directions; these aren’t just characters I’ve just followed in a book. They’re people who have become a part of me and I’ve become a part of their adventure.

(P.S. Sorry for the over the topness of this… I just felt like being eloquent and over the top. 🙂 )

Yearbook Quote: “Of course I know what vegan is. Tell them they have to use olive oil instead of butter. Because cows make butter and Italians make olive oil!

Pretty sure I will use this quote one day at work.

Superlatives – Most likely to make you wish you were a dream thief.

Like this post? You may like these too:

raven boys    timepiece    the-scorpio-races

4 thoughts on “Dream until your dream come true”

  1. Fantastic review–and having slaved over my own upcoming review for a long, long time, I know how hard it is to write about this series. There is just SO much to it! First: NOAH: You are not alone. That scene–THE scene, was wonderful. I just love Noah so much. I have so many EMOTIONS when it comes to him. I want to like protect him or something. Gansey was not a fave of mine in TRB, I liked him, but I felt weirdly detached from him at the same time. But this book? Yeah, I get the whole Gansey swoon factor now:) Ronan was one if my faves in TRB so I was VERY glad this book featured him so heavily. And Mr. Gray? BEST NEW CAST MEMBER EVAH. I have a very good feeling about him.

    I love this review. I can tell how enthusiastic you are about this book and this series, and I feel the same. And I don’t always get all the hidden meanings and foreshadowing in this series either so I ended having this epic email discussion with some of my blogger friends afterward where we theorized and analyzed and tried to pick it all apart. It seems to help:)

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

