Young Adult

Travel By Book: London

If you’re anything like me, you LOVE to travel, see new places. There are lots of ways to travel too: car, train, bus, plane… but, again, if you’re like me, extensive traveling is pretty much… unextensive. So I’ve come up with a new way of traveling… BY BOOK!

travel by book

Today’s Travel by Book is brought to you by Alice from Alice in Readerland! Love that she wanted to participate and she’s featuring one of my FAVORITE want to go to there destinations: London!

Travel by Book – Alice in Readerland

Today’s Travel by Book takes us to England!

The first place on my travel bucket list would definitely have be England. It combines theatre, rain and rich history; offers up sights such as glittering crown jewels and Big Ben; is home to authors like Shakespeare and Jane Austen; and hosts characters such as Sherlock Holmes and Robin Hood.

London Eye

So what are some Young Adult books that let us travel to England?

Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill—My favorite thing about this book is how much of London we get to see in it. We get to ride in the London Eye, visit Harrods, see the Globe Theatre, tour Buckingham Palace, and more!

13 Little Blue Envelopes/The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson—Of course, these books take us to a number of different fabulous locations, but I do love the chapters where we’re in London. From navigating through London traffic in the streets, to wandering through Harrods and gawking about how huge it is, to looking for performers in Covent Garden, we get a fun feel of London.

Rockoholic by C. J. Skuse—Originally published in the UK, this book lets us go see a concert at Motorpoint Arena Cardiff and then kidnap a rock star and bring him back to Somerset with us. Could you ask for a more unique trip to England?

London Rain

What favorite books do you have that are set in England? Or have you actually visited (or live in) England?

7 thoughts on “Travel By Book: London”

  1. I love when MJ’s books are set in England. You can really tell she loves the country and the details are so excellent. She’s the author I think of when I think London.

    Like

  2. I love when MJ’s books are set in England. You can really tell she loves the country and the details are so excellent. She’s the author I think of when I think London.

    Like

  3. Oooh! If ever you get to London, check out my website! It recommends weird and wonderful things to do in London and also has a city escapes page, with short films made of my travels abroad! 🙂 Love to know what you think!

    Like

  4. I loved Meant To Be and it was actually the first book that I remember reading that made me actually care about visiting London! In the recent past a couple of the London-set books that I’ve read are The Look by Sophia Bennett and the Memories series by Emma Hart. All great.

    Like

  5. I live in London! And I love reading books that are set here because I get to recognise all the landmarks. The best London-based books that I’ve read so far are the Peter Grant series starting with Rivers of London (Midnight Riot in the USA) by Ben Aaronovitch in which London is most definitely a main character!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

