Chatty Cathys, Young Adult

True Story Thursday – A-Z Bookish Survey

I just found out that Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner created this super cute survey! I am soooo doing this! 🙂

AtoZsurvey

Not really personal, but LOVE these things!

Author you’ve read the most books from:
Eep… Um…. I’m gonna say Meg Cabot. Love me some Meg Cabot!

Best Sequel Ever:
It’s probably a tie between Fire by Kristen Cashore and Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (yes, I know both of these are companions not sequels)

Currently Reading:
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Steifvater – it is SO good so far!

Drink of Choice While Reading:
Water? I don’t drink a lot when I’m reading.

E-reader or Physical Book?
This is kind of a toughie… on the one hand, there is nothing quite like having a book in your hands. There’s something comforting and magical (yeah, I went there) about a book. On the other… an e-reader allows for reading anytime, anywhere. It fits easily in my purse, isn’t heavy, can be pulled out at any moment… and it allows for me to carry a plethora of books wherever I go. Eep… I have NO idea how to choose!

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:
I’m gonna have to go with Finn from Born Wicked. While I’d LOVE to say it was someone swoony and hunky and all the things we love in a good fictional character… I probably would have been attracted to his slightly nerdy personality and his quirky sense of humor. Heck, I’d probably be attracted to that now!

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:
Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Yeah… so despite EVERYONE saying how great this was… I was super hesitant to start it. It just didn’t sound like a book I’d enjoy. Boy… was I wrong! This is one of my favorite book series ever!

Hidden Gem Book:
The Caged Graves – I haven’t seen a lot of talk about this one, but everyone who has read it has really enjoyed! It’s super good, spooky, thrilling… definitely check it out if you haven’t!

Important Moment in your Reading Life:
I don’t know if it’s THE most important moment… The first time I read Goodbye Stacy, Goodbye of the Baby-Sitters Club. It was the first time I had ever gotten so uncontrollably emotional over a book.

Just Finished:
Rose Under Fire – O.M.G. this is probably the best book I have read in a while. I absolutely LOVED every page of it!

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:
I’m not so picky about books…. I read just about everything. But, I am hesitant to get into things that may cross some of my comfort zones – in other words, super erotica. Not that there’s anything wrong with it, but just not my thing.

Longest Book You’ve Read:
Probably The Diviners. It was quite the whopper!

Or, if you want to count it, Gone With the Wind… I haven’t finished, but it’s HUGE!

Major book hangover because of:
Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta. The emotions within that book gave me the biggest hangover!

Number of Bookcases You Own:
2 in the living room, a hanging one in my bedroom, a corner shelf that has become a bookshelf in my bedroom, a hanging shelf in my foyer that has books on it… my desk which has books on it… haha, everything is a bookcase in my house!

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married. I’ve lost counts of how many times I’ve read this!

Preferred Place To Read:
Curled up in my “reading chair” (oversized armchair) or my bed. I’m a simple gal.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:
“And just as love has two sides, so too does Death. While Ismae will serve as His mercy, I will not, for that is not how He fashioned me. Every death I have witnessed, every horror I have endured, has forged me to be who I am — Death’s justice.” (Dark Triumph)

Reading Regret:
I really can’t think of a book that I regret reading, as I try to only read books I think/know I’ll enjoy. I do regret not actually reading Anna Dressed in Blood and Beauty Queens instead of listening to an audio.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):
The Infernal Devices… I made it through half of Clockwork Prince audiobook. I’m determined to finish this series… but it’s not really on my “read NOW” radar.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:
Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married, Dark Triumph, The Horse and His Boy

Unapologetic Fangirl For:
Celaena Sardothian from the Throne of Glass series… yeah, I’m totally fangirling over this character!

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:
Even though I’ve read it, I’m excited about Rose Under Fire coming out so EVERYONE can read it!

Worst Bookish Habit:
Starting a million books at once and not finishing them. I need to be better at managing how many books I start and FINISH before starting another one!

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
The Madman’s Daughter – I actually looked at my Kindle books because I’m at work! 🙂

Your latest book purchase:
Probably my last epic book trip to my favorite second hand book store. My purchases included The Host, Born Wicked, and about 10 other books that are still in my car! haha

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):
Rose Under Fire. It had taken me way too long to finish and I just wanted to stay with Rose on her journey.

Yay!!!! This was so fun! Thanks again to Jamie!

7 thoughts on “True Story Thursday – A-Z Bookish Survey”

  1. I am so excited to read Rose Under Fire. I think in the next few weeks I’m going to read it. And yay for Meg Cabot love. She’s the best! I still haven’t finished the Infernal Devices, either. I need to read the last one, but I’m soooo nervous. Lol. I’m always nervous about books.

    Like

  2. Ok you MUST finish the Infernal Devices series! Just wait until you get to The Clockwork Princess.. that book was amazing! Like stay up until 2am, guaranteed to cry your eyes out amazing haha. (Clearly, I loved this book.) Also – I am an unapologetic fangirl for Celaena Sardothian too! 🙂

    Like

  3. 1. Totally agree on The Caged Graves! I read it a few weeks ago – haven’t reviewed it yet but will be soon. Really loved that one!
    2. You’ve made me even more excited about reading Rose Under Fire! Can’t wait til it’s released.
    3. ADORED Saving Francesca. That book was just amazing.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

