To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Books in spaaaaace!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

Does anyone remember Piiiiiiggsss innnnnn Spaaaaaaccceeee from the Muppets? I don’t know why that struck me when I was sitting to do this topic, but it did! I’m not a HUGE fan of space books, mostly because I associate them with Star Trek and bleh… but there are some pretty awesome ones that include space and space travel!

Here are my Top Ten* Books Set in Space:

Chaos Walking Trilogy – So this doesn’t really take place IN SPACE but it does take place on another planet and Viola sort of travels in space….

Under the Never Sky – Again… not in space but it does have a spacey vibe.

Cinder – Maybe I should have picked a different topic… this one isn’t in space but it involves others FROM space… and I think the next installment, Cress, does take place in space!

*And here I start a new topic with spacey-futuristic worlds because my “set in space” topic wasn’t working!

Starters – This world totally creeps me out.. but in kind of a good way. I love the idea of renting bodies. Don’t ask me why.

For Darkness Shows the Stars/Across a Star Swept Sea – I am IN LOVE with this world more than I’m sure is healthy. Seriously, they’re both beautiful, beautiful settings and so imaginative that it was easy to be smack dab in the middle of both settings!

Icons – If you haven’t read this one yet, I highly suggest you do. The world is scary, filled with some kind of life-force that controls your own.

Alright… hrm… I know I’ve read more “spacey” books…. but for some reason can’t put my finger on them!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books in spaaaaace!”

  1. Great setting! I really want to read the chaos waking trilogy.Your post is really funny! I like it how you’re going through and realizing that some of the books you chose are not actually in Space… 🙂
    Happy Reading!
    My TTT

    Like

  2. GREAT topic– I love sci fi! So, one book I have read that is set in space, at least part of the time, is These Broken Stars. It releases in December and you’re going to want to read that one, Candice, very swoony:)

    And I am SUPER excited to read Cress, the third book in The Lunar Chronicles, which I hear is set almost entirely in space:)

    Like

  3. “Maybe I should have picked a different topic…” hilarious! i just picked up Darkness for my classics reading thing, so i’ll be getting to that soon. have you read the Across the Universe series? i only read the first book, but i really liked it and today while i was at the library I thought about getting the second but it wasn’t available. whomp whomp.

    Like

  4. Nice topic! And haha yes I absolutely do remember pigs in space 🙂 Did you read the Across the Universe series? That’s one I really liked. And ooh I’m eager to read the For Darkness series too, especially seeing it on your list. And Enders! I’m going to have to re-read Starters before that (finally) comes out.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

