Young Adult

Gayle Forman Read-Along: If I Stay Week 4 Questions and Wrap Up

Hi all! Welcome to my part of the Gayle Forman Read-Along, hosted by Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide!

Last week! Who’s excited to finish?!

if i stay2

In case you missed them, here are Week 3’s Questions (and my answers):

  1. There are several themes in If I Stay. Two that are very prevalent are sacrifice and choice. How do you think these themes affect the characters? Give an example of each and what you think about them (if you can). I think all the characters go through either a sacrifice or a choice which affects them in the book. One of the most notable choices I think is Mia’s dad’s decision to give up music for his family. To the outside world it looks like he’s sacrificed his happiness and talent because of his family, when it was actually the easiest choice he made. I loved that about him, that he was completely selfless and CHOSE to give up something he loved for something he loved even more. Another example is when Mia discusses giving up the cello – I think she thinks choosing to do this will be better for her friends and family, but what she’s really doing is pointlessly sacrificing something of herself. She’s not choosing what she loves more like her father did.
  2. Although Mia’s family has died, Kim mentions that she still has a family. What does this mean to you? What does “family” mean in your opinion? I love this line from Kim. I think that family is more than just people related to you by blood. Mia still has people who love her who WANT her to stay, who WANT her to be a part of their lives. While it may not be a biological family Mia has, it’s still people who love her.
  3. What does Adam’s act of putting the headphones on Mia suggest about their relationship? Whoops… will answer next week!
  4. Adam and Mia have an unconditional love. Could you make a case against this? What are some examples that you’ve read so far that could support this (if possible)? I don’t know if it’s “un”conditional… but I think it’s at some points conditional. I think their love is strong. It’s based on mutual respect for the other, it’s honest and open… while they have their differences, they’re very complimentary to one another. But I also think there’s a lot that tests their relationship. Each has their own agenda, so to speak, that affects their love. I don’t think it’s NOT unconditional, but I think there are a lot of things that will test them… especially now after Mia’s accident.
  5. Has your opinion or initial thoughts about this book changed? If so, how?

If I Stay Week 4 Questions and Wrap-Up

  1. “Amazing things happen when you stop hiding behind that hulking beast.” What is the significance of this statement that Mia is told at music camp? Are there any examples of her not hiding behind her cello that result in amazing things?
  2. Mia laments to her mom about the changes that are coming for her and Adam – college, musical success, moving – and her mom states that 17 is an inconvenient time to be in love. Do you agree? Disagree? Why?
  3. The last part of the book foreshadows Mia and Adam’s future relationship. If you haven’t read Where She Went, do you think it’s heading a good direction? If you have read Where She Went, does rereading this book give you a better understanding of their relationship in the sequel?
  4. So… last week I asked about the headphones and realized I jumped the gun. Feel free to answer that one now.
  5. What’s been your favorite part thus far about this read-along? Feel free to include any fun moments, any new bloggers you’ve met, etc.

Thanks again to Brittany from The Book-Addict’s Guide for hosting the Gayle Forman Read-Along! I’ve enjoyed hosting this leg of it and look forward to the next one with Where She Went!

Don’t forget to link up your posts for Week 3 questions in the comment section! I’ll have a last post next week so we can link up Week 4 questions.

Also, congrats to Wendy for winning a prize for Week 2! Be sure to link your Week 3 questions below so you can enter to win a prize as well!

3 thoughts on “Gayle Forman Read-Along: If I Stay Week 4 Questions and Wrap Up”

  1. ey there!! I didn’t participate in the readalong, but I did want to make a little note here. I just recently read this book for the second time – the first time I liked it okay but not too much – felt silly, really, because so many REALLY love it. So I waited a while and read it again, this time by audiobook while following along in print. I have to admit that I liked it a lot more the second time. It still isn’t my favorite book ever and it isn’t in my top ten or anything, but I liked it a lot better. Then I read Where She Went and it actually IS one of my favorites. So I hope you’re planning on a readalong for that one? Because it is AMAZING. (:

    Like

  2. Oh yay you posted your answers and questions for next week! Because I hadn’t seen a new post from you I was worried that I had posted on the wrong day or something. I agree with you about Adam and Mia’s relationship being conditional in one way. I personally found it a bit unfair that he asked her to stay, knowing the situation. I hadn’t really thought about Mia’s dad sacrificing his music for family. I guess it didn’t feel like a sacrifice to me because he did it willingly. He held no grudge against Mia’s mom or his family. He felt like there was a time and a place for everything and maybe it was time music took a back seat for now.
    Here are my answers for this week’s questions:http://booksinthemoonlight.wordpress.com/2013/08/07/gayle-forman-read-along-if-i-stay-week-3-q-a/

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

