Young Adult

Gayle Forman Read-Along: If I Stay Week 3 Questions

Hi all! Welcome to my part of the Gayle Forman Read-Along, hosted by Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide!

Whew! We are well into this book, aren’t we?! Let’s get on with this week’s questions!

if i stay2

In case you missed them, here are Week 2’s Questions (and my answers):

  1. Shortly after Kim arrives at the hospital, she goes to the hospital chapel to pray. How does this scene fit in with who she is? I think it’s interesting to see this side of Kim because she’s a pretty tough chick. Not in a badass don’t mess with me kind of way, but in a strong personality kind of way. I like seeing a vulnerability here, especially after seeing how she reacts to her mother’s blubbering in the waiting room. It’s also interesting to see her religion play into the scene – Mia says that Kim is very joking about being Jewish, but it’s nice to see that while she may joke about it, her religious beliefs actually play a stronger part of who she is.
  2. In the pages we’ve read Mia begins to realize that it’s up to her if she wants to stay. What’s hard about this decision? Based on what you know so far, talk about where you think she’s at mentally and what her reaction to this knowledge might be. I think what’s obviously hard is the fact that she’s starting to realize her immediate family is gone. That, in itself, is hard, but to decide whether you want to stay alive when the people who mean the most to you are no longer there… I’m sure Mia is asking “what’s the point?” Mentally though, I think she’s just now starting to realize this. It hasn’t really settled in, she hasn’t given it much thought, so she’s just teetering on the edge of realization.
  3. Mia’s parents are definitely different than she is. How do you think their personalities affect Mia? I LOVE her parents! I love that they are their own persons, comfortable being themselves. While Mia is completely different from her parents, she’s very similar in this respect – she’s comfortable (for the most part) to be herself. And her parents don’t really judge her for that.
  4. The Halloween scene is one of my favorites – what do you think is significant about this particular scene in terms of Mia and Adam’s relationship? I think this shows the line they both cross to accept one another’s differences. While it’s kind of a silly way, it shows that they’re starting to accept that the other person is different and that they’re willing to embrace that part of the other person. I also love that despite how they are dressing to please the other, they both know that they loved the person regardless of the costume.
  5. Mia desperately wants Adam and Kim to be friends, but it’s just not happening for them. Was it surprising to you to see Kim and Adam come together in the hospital? What are your thoughts on this? I didn’t really find it surprising. While death and tragedy is awful, it brings together people in the strangest ways. Differences are put aside and the love you have for the person trumps everything. I really loved seeing Adam and Kim come together for Mia, to help and support each other. I loved that they were able to do this; to me it shows just how selfless they really are.

If I Stay Week 3 Questions

  1. There are several themes in If I Stay. Two that are very prevalent are sacrifice and choice. How do you think these themes affect the characters? Give an example of each and what you think about them (if you can).
  2. Although Mia’s family has died, Kim mentions that she still has a family. What does this mean to you? What does “family” mean in your opinion?
  3. What does Adam’s act of putting the headphones on Mia suggest about their relationship?
  4. Adam and Mia have an unconditional love. Could you make a case against this? What are some examples that you’ve read so far that could support this (if possible)?
  5. Has your opinion or initial thoughts about this changed? If so, how?

Don’t forget to link up your posts in the comment section!

Also, congrats to Natalie for winning a prize for Week 1! Be sure to link your Week 2 questions below so you can enter to win a prize as well!

5 thoughts on “Gayle Forman Read-Along: If I Stay Week 3 Questions”

  1. I agree with you about Mia’s decision in choosing to stay. I think now she realizes apart from her music and Adam, she’s got nothing else to live for and family has been such a big part of her life. I also thought that the Halloween scene was where Mia got the reassurance that Adam accepted her for who she is as opposed to what she was that night. I wasn’t surprised that Adam and Kim came together in the end either. I think they are the only two who understand what Mia means to each of them in their own ways.
    Here are my answers for Week 2.http://booksinthemoonlight.wordpress.com/2013/07/31/gayle-forman-read-along-if-i-stay-week-2-qa/
    Once again I’m sorry that I read ahead by accident!!

    Like

  2. It’s been so long since I read this book, but it’s one of the books that got me hooked on YA so I guess I loved it 🙂 I should have participated in the read along- darn! Gosh- I don’t even recall the Halloween scene. Now I really need to re-read it!

    Like

  3. I LOVE this book. It’s the book that made me fall in love with Gayle Forman! I promised myself I’d reread it this summer, along with Where She Went but I haven’t gotten around to it yet! 😦

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

