To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Things I won’t pick up

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

Today’s Top Ten was kind of a toughie… I’ll admit, I generally will pick up anything to read. I don’t discriminate! But there are some things that may make me either not pick it up or put it right back down!

Here are my Top Ten things that make me not want to pick up a book:

Any nobility word – Duke, Duchess, Viscount, Countess… While I LOVE books that usually are about these characters, typically I won’t pick up a book that has those titles in the book’s title. I just think they’re cheesy and I know people are like “man, look at that sap of a woman reading some trashy romance novel.”

Nerdy Science Fiction -Please note I said “nerdy.” I actually enjoy some science fiction. What I don’t want is stuff that’s similar to Star Trek or Star Wars or Babylon 5 or… well I really can’t think of anything else. Needless, I think you can see where I’m going with this.

Critically Acclaimed – This isn’t really something in the title of a book, but I tend to stay away from books that have this splashed about all over the cover. I’m sorry, but sometimes critics are wrong and probably just recommend a book because whoever they work for told them to (okay I’m sure that’s not always true). But just because a critic said everyone will like it doesn’t mean I want to.

Sex Words – Yeah… no.

Slavery topics that makes the white man a monster – I really don’t need to suffer the embarrassment of my ancestors nor do I want to be one of those white people who get all fake “OMG I feel soooo bad about this!” I don’t feel bad about it. I hate that it happened, I hate that it existed, I hate everything about it. But it’s a part of our history, just like everything else is. If a book happens to have slavery in it, or it’s focused on a slave, I want it to be an uplifting story of overcoming obstacles and whatnot, the road to freedom and what happens after. I don’t like books about slavery that have overseers and slave owners who are horrible, despicable monsters – mostly because this is a HARD topic for me to read about. And not just black slaves… any kind of slaves. (please don’t hate me!)

For Fans of… – I know, I know… Having the words “Twilight” or “Harry Potter” on a book instantly insures that it will sell. Great. But you know what? When your book is NOTHING LIKE TWILIGHT OR HARRY POTTER I’m gonna get so pissed. Also, I’m sorry, but selling me a book about fairies by comparing it to Twilight just doesn’t work on so many levels.

Okay… I had to stop because… well… I generally pick up most anything.

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Things I won’t pick up”

  1. Yes, the Harry Potter one bugs me as well! “For fans of Harry Potter” … um, come on! Harry Potter appeals to tons and tons of audiences, people who hate fantasy and love it, voracious readers and people who hated reading … I’m getting all ranty. Anyway, that particular marketing tactic annoys me too.

    Like

  2. i hate the “for fans of” not because I don’t want to read more books like the book I loved, but because they’re generally completely wrong, they’re nothing like the beloved book/series. it’s usually so derivitive and just have some small common denominator, but they’re totally not in the same league and this is the only way they can sell the book, not on it’s own merits.

    Like

  3. Very interesting take on the slavery issue. You’re right – who wants to hear about how horrible it was? Yes, it sucked, lets hear about the uplifting stories, so we dont all hate ourselves! Great list. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I just have a hard time with it. I feel like I SHOULD feel guilty about it, but I don’t. I’d much rather focus on the positive things – freedom, overcoming obstacles, etc. – than the negative ones!

      Like

  4. I know, this one was hard!! I’m usually not a fan of “critically acclaimed” books either. They’re usually TOO serious for me.. I’m just more of a light reader!
    For fans of is a good one too! They almost never match!!

    Like

  5. I’m so with you on for fans of…I feel like authors shouldn’t want their books to be compared to other books. Wouldn’t they want for their books to be viewed as so original that comparisons couldn’t be made? Great list! Thanks for stopping by mine!

    Like

  6. Oh, I dislike the “For fans of…” thing too! Most of the time–well, for me–I don’t think whatever books they’re comparing to it are actually all that alike. (I’m not sure if what I just wrote makes sense.) I never thought of using those lines as a way to “sell” their books. Never noticed it actually. Nice list.

    Like

  7. I am such a sucker… I have been burned by “for fans of” or “critically acclaimed” often. Though the other day I saw a review of something “for the fans of” something and really wanted to read the book… (though I have no idea what it was now!)

    Like

    1. I saw lots of people mentioning over-hyped books – I’m glad I’m not the only person who gets turned off by these! I’ve tried reading some and usually only get about 1/4 into it before I’m bored or not interested!

      Like

    1. I totally agree. The only one that I’ve picked up based on “for fans of” was The Testing (it’s for fans of The Hunger Games). I really really liked it!

      Like

  8. I also stay far away from books with lots of hype and acclaim. I was so disappointed in such a book last fall, and couldn’t even finish reading it. It just confirmed my bias against books with lots of hype, at least while the hype is still going strong. If a book/writer (or band, actor, tv show, etc.) really is so awesome, it’ll still be there for me to discover on my own, on its own merits, when it’s no longer the talk of the town.

    Like

    1. Agree. If there is a hyped up book, I may check out what it’s about… but if it doesn’t sound like something I’d pick up on my own without someone telling me to, I steer clear. No point in reading a book I know I won’t like just because it’s super popular!

      Like

  9. Yeah, the For the Fans of… thing is – difficult! Sometimes, it really is true and the books attract a certain “kind” of fans, but usually, the two books have nothing in common and the reference is just annoying!

    Like

    1. Agreed! We recently read a book for The Selective Collective that was touted as a mixture between some other book and If I Stay… it had nothing at all similar to either of these books! Totally misleading just trying to get people to read a mediocre book! Whew, rant over! πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Haha about the critics. I agree, too. I saw this movie when I was in high school called Mulholland Drive. It was the most AWFUL movie ever, and made no sense. I saw the movie with my friend, who ended up being the Valedictorian of my class, and even she didn’t get it. She said that the critics probably said they loved it, because they had no idea what was going on, and didn’t want to look stupid. So I always think of that when critics love something that I don’t get or like.

    Like

  11. Seriously sick of ‘for fans of…’ It’s the reason a lot of people I know won’t read Divergent, due to the overly enthusiastic marketing comparisons to Hunger Games. *shakes fists angrily at marketing execs* Also the critics thing gets on my last nerve. I usually do the opposite of what they say and read the books they hate. My trusted critics are my real life friends and my Goodreads pals. End of story! πŸ™‚ Great list.

    My TTT:

    http://diamondinroughcoal.blogspot.com/2013/07/top-ten-tuesday-2.html

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

