Young Adult

Forever we’ll be, tumble and fall

Tumble & Fall by Alexandra Coutts

Tumble-and-Fall

The Skinny: The world is living in the shadow of oncoming disaster. An asteroid is set to strike the earth in just one week’s time; catastrophe is unavoidable. The question isn’t how to save the world—the question is, what to do with the time that’s left? Against this stark backdrop, three island teens wrestle with intertwining stories of love, friendship and family—all with the ultimate stakes at hand. – From Goodreads

BFF?: I’m gonna split my BFF talk between the three MCs. I didn’t really feel SUPER connected to any of them, like their personalities and thoughts, but instead connected with what each of them were going through.

Sienna – She is our first character we’re introduced to, so I feel like I liked her best of all. She has been in a mental institution, but when the world is about to end her dad comes to get her. I felt like I got her… she had issues, she’s spending time readjusting to her family and her father’s new fiance… all while they world is ending. I loved seeing her go back and forth between what is important too. Her story, most of all, made me think of who I’d want to spend my last hours on earth with.

Zan – At first I wasn’t too crazy about Zan. She was still mourning over her boyfriend Leo, who had died 10 months prior, which I totally got. But I thought she was a little closed off to people. But when she discovers something about Leo, she and his best friend Nick set off to uncover more about it. I started liking her then as Nick brought out something in her. Watching her deal with all the things in her life that were happening OUTSIDE of the world ending was pretty special and I really felt a lot of sympathy for her.

Caden – I honestly thought I’d like him least, but he ended up being my favorite of the three! He’s a little broodish and cut off from everyone. But when he’s forcefully reunited with his dad, it’s a little heartbreaking to see their reunion. I did start to develop a lot of respect for him as he dealt with this reunion and discovered that while his family (his mom and sister) weren’t perfect, they were his. He goes through a change that I thought took a lot of courage, which I had a lot of admiration for.

Readability: Sometimes I don’t like when books have multiple characters’ POV, but in this case it actually worked. Since none of the characters really cross over, it felt easy keeping their stories separate. I didn’t have to think “okay, well she is this and he is that and they do this…” This read more like 3 different stories wrapped into one, which I liked!

Crush Level: 6ish
There are a few boys in this book, but I think the one that I liked most was Nick. Yes, he was the BFF of Zan’s dead boyfriend, and you know he can’t be “the one” but there was still something so charming about him. I loved the little things he did, putting his own feelings aside to aid Zan. Even though things like that break my heart, I love that type of love – the kind that when you truly love someone you believe in giving them whatever they want… even if what they want isn’t you. Heartbreaking, no?

Bonus Points:
Swan Boats
swan-boats-2
There’s a scene where Zan and Nick go on a swan boat. I thought… okay, maybe this is just a made up thing or a random thing the author wrote about. NO! OMG they are real things!

Blowing up a meteor
Wizards_vs._AsteroidAlexJustinMaxreturnshome

Despite it starring archnemesis Selena Gomez, I LOVE Wizards of Waverly Place. There’s this episode where there is a huge asteroid/meteor flying towards Earth. The government shoots a missile at it but it doesn’t explode so the wizards fly up there to fix it. Anyway…. THERE IS AN ALMOST EXACT SAME SCENE IN THIS BOOK! Okay, the wizards don’t go up to fix it, but the government does attempt to blow up the asteroid/meteor and I was like “ohh… this isn’t going to work. Didn’t you guys see that episode of Wizards of Waverly Place?”

Beach Town
seagrove

Sienna’s dad takes her to their beach house that’s in this little beach town so they can live out the last of their days in peace or something. Y’all… if the world is about to explode, I want to live out my final days here. There is something so awesome about small beach towns!

Yearbook Quote: Every time she goes out on a boat she wonders why she doesn’t do it more often.

Yo, me too… me too. Yay boats!

Superlatives – Best reason to watch Wizards of Waverly Place so you’ll know what to do in any emergency

Like this post? You may like these too:

for darkness    icons 2    UTNS-cover1

3 thoughts on “Forever we’ll be, tumble and fall”

  1. Swan boats! Blowing up a meteor! Beach town! I totally added this to my TBR list. I’m glad the different POVs worked for this one, because I can be a little hesitant with multiple POV books, but this one sound so good! 🙂 Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    Like

  2. The setting and premise just sounds so fun and reminds me of that movie Seeking a Friend for the End of the World. I didn’t realize there was multi-POV- glad it was done well! And yes, yay boats- must ride more boats before the world ends! 🙂
    Looking forward to reading this one even more now.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

