Spooky! Scary!, Young Adult

This book gives new meaning to that song…

Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn

another little piece

The Skinny: Annaliese has been missing for a year after she disappeared the night she stumbled out of the woods at a party, drenched in blood. She is found wandering the road hundreds of miles from her home, with no memory of how she got there. But as the pieces start coming back to her, violent and horrific memories, she begins to put the puzzle back together: she is not Annaliese.

BFF?: Annaliese scared the pants off me at some parts in this book. Like seriously, she was creeptastic. Mostly because you just KNOW there’s some scary underlying past that even she doesn’t know about. That being said, when she was just being “herself” she had a really good personality. Kind of smartypants and flirty. I actually really like her like this. I also love how even though she’s not really Annaliese, she still manages to be compassionate to her parents and others who had interacted with her in the past. Seriously, I can’t think of a character who is quite as complex as Annaliese!

Readability: SPOOKY! This is like edge of your seat writing (sort of). Basically I spent the entire book being generally creeped out and confused… something I genuinely love in a book!

Crush Level: 6
Despite the fact that he videotapes people, Dex was kind of super awesome. I don’t think he’s cute or sexy by any means – I kept picturing him as this tall gangly nerd guy – but he is so super sweet and caring about Annaliese. There are also some major sexy scenes with him… not like brown chicken brown cow (thanks Gone Pecan ladies!) scenes, but those where he’s all “No fair maiden! Let me go first into the dangerous situation!” You know how those get my heart all a flutter!

Bonus Points:
The Book
another little piece
So, I could list all the parts that made this book pretty spectacular for me, but then I feel like I’d be doing you a disservice. This book is about discovery, about being in the dark, about finding out the facts one page at a time. All of the things that I loved oh so much were shockers, which would be total spoilers. So I’m just gonna say that this book is one giant bonus point in itself!

Commencement Speech: There really are so many spectacular things about this book. I wasn’t even sure I was going to like it going in – it sort of sounds like same old, same old plot. Booooring. BUT! But, but, but! After one page, I quickly realized it was not. This book gripped me from the beginning and left me scratching my head and on pins and needles the entire way through. Why was Annaliese missing? What happened to her memory? Who is the creepy red headed boy?

One thing I really grew to appreciate is how Annaliese calls her parents “the mom” and “the dad.” It’s never “my mom” or “my dad.” While it shouldn’t have been a big part of the book, I loved how it showed just how disconnected she is with Annaliese’s life. Anyway… if you’re in the mood for a thriller that may or may not mess with your mind, I would highly suggest reading Another Little Piece!

Yearbook Quote: None! ARC!

Superlatives – Most likely to make you want to pack your own snack

Like this post? You may like these too:

sea of tranquility    Hanging By A Thread    ALL THE BROKEN PIECES final cover

13 thoughts on “This book gives new meaning to that song…”

  1. This one’s had my eye for awhile! It just seems so interesting and pretty much every reviewer has said a)they liked it/loved it, and b)couldn’t talk about much because there’s SO many reveals. Definitely sounds like an exciting & creepy read!

    Like

  2. I’ve been seen this book around a lot but now I’m really really curious about it! It sounds so mysterious and scary. Which means I’ll probably have to read it during the day and not late at night when I’m alone in my apartment haha. But your review definitely makes me want to check it out 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh man, I do love a creepy read. I love when books give me goosebumps. I should really check it out. And I love that little quote from Dex. Although I do think Dex is a ridiculous name 🙂

    Like

  4. Your review is what made me buy this book. One of the most disturbing, confusing, perplexing books I’ve read but I loved it!! The author very rarely threw you a bone and it was hard to figure out what was going on most of the time but that was very refreshing! I love to try to figure things out and you just can’t do that with this book!

    Like

  5. WHOA, this sounds really good. I am completely intrigued. I’ve seen other people on goodreads reading/adding it, but it didn’t interest me. I am going to add it myself now 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

