Mythology, Young Adult

Wake me up!

Awaken by Meg Cabot

Awaken by Meg Cabot

The Skinny: Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera knew by accepting the love of John Hayden, she’d be forced to live forever in the one place she’s always dreaded most: the Underworld. The sacrifice seemed worth it, though, because it meant she could be with the boy she loves.  But now her happiness — and safety — are threatened, all because the Furies have discovered that John has broken one of their strictest rules: He revived a human soul.  If the balance between life and death isn’t fixed, both the Underworld and Pierce’s home back on earth will be wiped away. But there’s only one way to restore order. Someone has to die.

BFF?: While Pierce in Underworld started to grown on me, I think she started to ungrow on my for the first half of Awaken. Like c’mon… why are you talking so much? But then… I dunno. She got all bad ass and I started liking her again! But then she started talking and it was like <headdesk>. And then SHAZAM! I liked her. I don’t know why I’m having such a hard time with Pierce. I’ve never felt like this about a character in a series. One minute I like her, the next I don’t, then I like her, then I don’t. Too much flippy floppy personality Pierce! She reminds me of one of those awkward girls who TRIES to do what she thinks is brave and courageous but is really just a stupid move.

Readability: I don’t know if I was in a mood when I read this, but the first half was VERY chaotic. It made me feel extreme panic because there was SO much going on. It wasn’t written badly, it just felt like there were about 10 people in my office and they were all talk talk talking at once. After that though, it smoothed out and was really easy to relax into.

Crush Level: 9
John has not lost his hotness over these books. In fact, the more he’s around Pierce and he stops being major moody/grumpy, he gets really swoony. With his bulging muscles, his black jeans and long flowing hair, he could easily fit on the cover of whatever trashy romance novel you find at the grocery store. And normally… this is not my kind of guy. I’m not into the muscley hunks. But for John? Yeah, I’ll make an exception for that!

Bonus Points:
The Birds
birds23
At the very beginning the skies of the Underworld start to fill with birds. It reminds me of the Alfred Hitchcock movie – my mom always says when she saw it, it TERRIFIED her. <rolls eyes>

Commencement Speech: After being pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed Underworld, I was excited to get to read Awaken. Overall, it was good. A nice finish to this series. But… I just felt weird at different times over it. Like the beginning. There was SO MUCH going on, too many characters talking at once, things were frantic for Pierce… all of this really made me physically uncomfortable and a little panicked. But once I passed that part, it got okay. I enjoyed reading it and following Pierce as she tries to save the Underworld. There were a few times that I felt things got a little craycray, such as the end, but it was nice to see this series wrap up.

Yearbook Quote: None. ARC!

Superlatives – Most likely to be a remake of Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds

Like this post? You may like these too:

underworld    goddess inheritance    IronQueenCover

3 thoughts on “Wake me up!”

  1. Much as I love Meg Cabot, I was deeply meh about this series. Pierce kind of annoys me, and John is kind of creepy or something. But I’ll probably read this eventually for closure.

    Like

  2. I totally love this series and I thought this book wrapped it all up nicely. Like you, I was a little concerned at first because SPOILER ALERT I was so worried John wouldn’t be in it enough. I mean, if John’s not in it that means no sexy times. That would be bad. Very bad. But it all worked out. I really like him. I think his grumpiness and overprotectiveness is crazy hot, which is funny because it would annoy me if my husband acted like that. It’s only attractive in books. 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

