Young Adult

Travel By Book: Northeastern Beaches

If you’re anything like me, you LOVE to travel, see new places. There are lots of ways to travel too: car, train, bus, plane… but, again, if you’re like me, extensive traveling is pretty much… unextensive. So I’ve come up with a new way of traveling… BY BOOK!

travel by book

There have been many times that I’ve read a book set in a place I’ve never been and immediately felt like I was there. Who needs to ACTUALLY travel there when you’ve just experienced an incredibly journey?

For today’s Travel By Book we’re going to the beaches of the Northeast!

Before I begin, I should just say that I LOVE our beautiful beaches down south! Turquoise blue waters, sugar sand beaches, the smell of Southern style seafood in the air and hot summer nights filled with music and excitement… you can’t beat that! I’m pretty sure I have the coastal lifestyle in my blood.

But there’s something truly ideal about the beaches of the Northeast in my opinion. Small coastal towns, ice cream shops, clam bakes, bonfires on the shore, sweaters at night, boardwalks… these are things we DO NOT have down here! Or at least they’re sort of rarer.

So if you’re like me and love to escape to the Northeast beach, here’s your passport… via books!

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini – I’m gonna start out with a different one here. Not a “beach” book by any means, but it does take place in the area! The town where Helen lives is so ideal to me; I would love to live there! Or at least visit!

This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith – The Maine setting, the summer, boats… it was like reading my dream vacation!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan – Pretty sure these books are going to be on every list! There is a scene where Percy and his mom have gone to the beach. Kind of loved it!

Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland – Haven’t read this one, but everyone has said how wonderful it is! Seems like the perfect escape to my fantasy location!

Any favorite books set in the Northeastern Beaches? If you’ve actually been, what are some of your favorite places to go? Let me know if you’ve read any so I can add to the list!

3 thoughts on “Travel By Book: Northeastern Beaches”

  1. I love your Travel by Book feature! πŸ™‚ I really liked that This is What Happy Looks Like was set in Maine; I’ve wanted to go to Maine ever since I was 8 and my neighbor brought back beautiful photos from there! πŸ™‚ Nantucket Blue sounds like it would have a great setting!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    Like

  2. Fun post/feature! I love reading about Northeastern beach towns. This is What Happy and Nantucket Blue are both great examples! Both made me long for a vacation house in a quaint New England beach town. The Summer We Read Gatsby is set in the Hamptons and follows two girls who inherited a beach house. The Hamptons are a fun location.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

