Spooky! Scary!, Young Adult

We’ve got ghosts! Yes we do! We’ve got ghosts, how bout you?

School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins

School Spirits

The Skinny: Fifteen-year-old Izzy Brannick was trained to fight monsters. For centuries, her family has hunted magical creatures. But when Izzy’s older sister vanishes without a trace while on a job, Izzy’s mom decides they need to take a break. Izzy and her mom move to a new town, but they soon discover it’s not as normal as it appears. A series of hauntings has been plaguing the local high school, and Izzy is determined to prove her worth and investigate. But assuming the guise of an average teenager is easier said than done. For a tough girl who’s always been on her own, it’s strange to suddenly make friends and maybe even have a crush. Can Izzy trust her new friends to help find the secret behind the hauntings before more people get hurt?- From Goodreads

BFF?: I LOVED Izzie! Give me a girl who is trying to prove to her mom that she is capable of something and I will show you myself as a teen. But what I loved about Izzy wasn’t her tenacity in trying to prove something to her mom, but more in that she was trying to prove something to herself. She WANTED to prove that she could handle something so seemingly easy as a regular haunting. Which I totally respected. I also loved how she reacted to her adjustment to high school. While it was troubling for her, she handled it pretty humorously. The only thing I didn’t like about her was that she didn’t ask for help when she needed it. I guess this is because as an adult I know the value in asking for help, so it was frustrating for me to see her get over her head and still not ask for help. But… I guess we’re all like that as teens when we have something to prove!

Readability: I totally got into the narration of this one. Izzy had a fun voice, a little sarcastic and sassy, but still fun!

Crush Level: 6
So, when I watched Perks of Being a Wallflower, I really developed a crush (not in a creepy way) on Ezra Miller’s portrayal of Patrick. But, Patrick was gay so alas it was never meant to be. HOWEVER! I feel like this character came back to me in a totally straight way in the form of Dex. Dex is this funky mix of hipster, jock, nerd, cool kid. He wears cravats to school. He talks kinda idiot-funny-pompus. And he’s totally adorbs! Like at first he kind of acted like your flamboyant best friend. But totally straight. But then he got all kinds of sexy and flirtatious. I don’t know how to describe it. Regardless, he was seriously seriously cute and I loved watching him and Izzy interact!

Bonus Points:
Ghost Hunters
ghost hunter
Izzie and her mom are the last two in a family of monster hunters. Izzy is given the task to rid a high school of a ghost. Needless to say, it’s freaking awesome.

Man in the mirror
michael jackson

Torin, an evil witch (?) from the 1700s (?) is stuck in Izzy’s mirror and she talks to him all the time. He’s kind of hilarious. Creepy at times, annoying at others, but overall really funny!

Ghost Hunting Club
Scooby-Doo-Wallpaper-

Maybe it’s because I’m just old school, but we didn’t have cool clubs like the Paranormal Management Society (which Izzy joins). Probably the coolest club we had was Science Club and that was only because you got to go out of school for field trips.

Yearbook Quote: “None! ARC!”

Superlatives – Most likely to I ain’t fraid of no ghosts!

Like this post? You may like these too:

paranormalcy    the diviners    Something-Strange-and-Deadly

1 thought on “We’ve got ghosts! Yes we do! We’ve got ghosts, how bout you?”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

