Contemporary, Young Adult

If you’re happy and you know it…

This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

what happy looks like

The Skinny: When an accidental email gets sent to Ellie, she develops a correspondance with its sender… unknown to her to be Graham Larkin, teen heart throb movie star. So when Graham convinces the director of his new movie to film in Ellie’s hometown, it’s only natural that the two should “accidentally” run into each other. As they get to know each other IRL, Ellie realizes that dating a movie star comes with a price: gaining a place in the media spotlight. But because of her past, Ellie wants to avoid this spot at all costs… even if it means losing the boy she’s come to love.

BFF?: I wasn’t particularly attached to either Ellie or Graham. I mean, they were cute… I liked Ellie a lot in that she wanted things and worked hard to get them. I liked Graham because he just wanted to be himself, despite the glamor of Hollywood. But I found that they both sort of ran from their problems. They handled things in pretty crazy ways that made no sense. It was as if things had to be one way or no way, which I didn’t like. Overall, they were both cute, easy to relate to characters, but I would have liked to see a little more depth from them both.

Readability: Very cute, easy read. Perfect for summer time. I really loved the email conversations between the two characters. I really wouldn’t have minded if the whole book was like this!

Crush Level: 5
Graham was like this super cute rom com character. Sweet, caring, funny… flat. I mean, he had some depth… the kind of depth maybe a Nicholas Sparks’ character does. He just really wasn’t for me. Cute, but not for me.

Bonus Points:
Maine
maine
I want to go to Maine. That’s about it.

Email Conversations
Youve_Got_Mail_595

Okay, this was my favorite part of this entire book! It took me back to my college days, emailing and chatting with the BGFF. Ellie and Graham’s emails were adorable. Easily my favorite part of the book!

Ice Cream Shop
Icecream

One of Ellie’s jobs is working at an ice cream shop. While we have them around here, this is not a place I frequent that often. However, on vacation at the beach, nothing beats a stop in the ice cream shop and coming out with a delicious scoop!

On a Boat!
im-on-a-boat_2
Ellie and Graham go on a boat ride. Now, as someone who LOVES boats this was one of my favorite parts. Last time I went on a boat I might have hummed “I’m on a boat! I’m on a boat!”

Making fun of James Franco
james-franco-oscars
I’m not saying that this was purposeful… but there was a spot where I immediately thought about him and had a good laugh.

Commencement Speech: I’m gonna keep this short and sweet – If you’re expecting The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, you’re going to be let down. If you’re expecting a super cute summer read that leaves you with all the happys, then this is the one for you.

Yearbook Quote: “Looks like the wrong kind of bait can get you the right kind of fish.”

Superlatives – Most likely to make you want to be ON A BOAT!

Like this post? You may like these too:

anna and the french kiss    the statistical probability of love at first sight    mtb

5 thoughts on “If you’re happy and you know it…”

  1. I loved the Maine setting and the cute emails, they were my favorite part of the book! I agree, Ellie and Graham were both cute, but I wish they had more depth. Great review! 🙂

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    Like

  2. This book really is a cute summer read! I loved the setting and I definitely loved the rom-com feel, as I’m partial to them. I think that Maine sounds like a place I’d love to visit, if only for the small town experience, ice cream shops and boat rides! Glad you liked it 🙂

    Like

  3. I felt the same way about the characters… they were all pretty bland… very surface level! It made me sad because the premise had soooo much potential! 😦 Regardless, I didn’t hate it… I definitely enjoyed reading it, but not at all memorable… except for maybe Ellie’s dog Bagel the Beagle. bahaha

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

