Paranormal, Young Adult

Paranormal whatta?

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

paranormalcy

The Skinny: Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamors.

But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal. – From Goodreads

BFF?: Guys, I’d like you to meet my long lost BFF Evie. This girl was totally dope. She was funny, she was random, she was witty and charming and spunky. Seriously, any girl who can roll around on a rolling chair through the halls of a secret international paranormal agency in hot pink high heel boots wins major points in my book! I found myself laughing out loud at Evie, WISHING I could actually be best friends with this chick.

Readability: I really felt like this book was more of a gab fest between me and my BFF Evie than a book. Her voice was so natural and funny that it honestly wasn’t like reading at all!

Crush Level: 7
I’m not really sure WHAT to think about Lend. He’s this weird shape-shifting something so it’s hard to even envision having a crush on him because there’s not really a true HIM. That being said… whoa. He is like… whoa. Not so much swoony as just super duper cute. Sweet, charming, funny, nice… should I go on?

Bonus Points:
Monster Hunting
monster hunter
Seriously, this has been one of the coolest book elements I’ve read in a while. I loved how the IPCA didn’t KILL the monsters… they just tagged them and forced them to do work. Okay, that actually sounds like slavery, but maybe I should say they prevented them from harming innocent humans. Either way, following Evie on her missions was hilarious and exciting!

Living vicariously through teen shows
Degrassi_12

Evie’s been with IPCA since she was a little girl and basically knows nothing of the outside world. She watches a teen TV show (like Dawson’s Creek) and envisions that’s what real life is like for teenagers. Seeing her crave things we take for granted – lockers, prom, school – was adorable. And funny!

Fairies
fae

This isn’t by any means a fairy book, but the IPCA has captured the Fae, forcing them to work for them. If you know anything about fairy lore, you know that this is NOT something that is easily done. A good bit of hijinks, some pretty perilous, happen because of them!

Commencement Speech: I decided a while back to start cleaning off my bookshelves and READING all these books that I just HAD TO HAVE. The first one I grabbed was Paranormalcy and wow… just… wow. WHY did this sit on my shelf for so long?! Really, there’s not much to say about this book that hasn’t been said. I absolutely loved it, thought it was precious and fun, and honestly cannot wait to read the next two books in the series!

Yearbook Quote: “Bleep stupid bleep bleep faeries and their bleep bleep bleep obsessions. He had better stop bleep bleep bleep the bleep bleep rules or I will bleep bleep bleep the little bleeeeeeep.”

Superlatives – Most likely to make you wish your BFF was a mermaid

Like this post? You may like these too:

Wendell_White    200px-City_of_Bones    Something-Strange-and-Deadly

6 thoughts on “Paranormal whatta?”

  1. I was recommended to your blog by Quinn’s Book blog, she has noted you as one of the bloggers she’d like to meet in this week’s Feature & Follow Friday. I totally love your review about of Paranormalcy as I totally felt that way about Evie too, she was just unlike any other characters I’ve read about, like you, I can totally see her as being one of my gfs LOL

    My Follow Friday

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. I loved Paranormalcy too, it was just so refreshing and hilarious and Evie is so charming! Lend TBH is a bit of a wet rag but hey, we can’t outshine the main character. The rest of the series is great too, just not as great as the first.

    Like

  3. Evie was my favorite part of this book! She was HILARIOUS, and made me laugh out loud a lot when I read this. I’m not too keen on the fae bit, but otherwise, it was a very entertaining story.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

