To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Character Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

I’m pretty sure that I talk about movies… a lot. Which is funny because I rarely watch them! But when it comes to books being turned into movies, there’s a lot that can make or break them. I think for me the worry of whether an actor can accurately portray a character who I’ve gotten to know through reading is a huge fear. What if they don’t portray the character like I’d like? What if they’re completely wrong for the part? But sometimes…. oh sometimes it’s like the movie heavens have smiled down upon us and given us an actor who portrays the character so well he or she IS that character!

Here are my top ten character adaptations:

macon ravenwoodMacon Ravenwood – Jeremy Irons – Lord… when I read this book before the movie came out I was a little hesitant about how Macon was going to adapt onto screen. While Beautiful Creatures WASN’T the box office smash hit I’d hoped for, wowzers… I loved Jeremy Irons as Macon! He was smooth and sorta sexy in that creepy charming way. Definitely a good adaptation!

ezra-miller-patrick-perksPatrick – Ezra Miller – While I thought the entire casting for this movie was PHENOMENAL I really felt like Ezra Miller as Patrick stood out to me. He managed to capture Patrick’s silly, funny, show-offy personality but still show that he was pretty tormented and hurt underneath his exterior.

pres snowย  President Snow – Donald Sutherland – There literally is no one else that I want to see play President Snow.

mr rochersterMr. Rochester – Toby Stevens – Not one of the more popular adaptations of Jane Eyre, but Toby Stephens IS Mr. Rochester to me. I absolutely love how he portrays him and finally fell in love with a character I hold very dear to my heart!

Bellatrix_throwing_knifeย  Bellatrix Lestrange- Helena Bonham Carterย  – Is there ANY role HBC can’t totally rock?

RAMONA AND BEEZUSRamona Quimby – Joey King – This little girl was PRECIOUS in Ramona and Beezus! She totally brought one of my favorite childhood characters to life!

Beth MarchBeth March – Claire Danes – MY FAVORITE MOVIE!!! While Beth has always been my favorite Little Women character, Claire Danes showed me why. Every scene which she’s in is so powerful it moves me to tears every time I watch this movie!

mary lennoxMary Lennox – Kate Maberly – I adored this movie when I was younger. Still do actually. Kate Maberly truly brings the complicated character of Mary to life, giving her tons of depth.

peeta1Peeta Mellark – Josh Hutcherson – Did you guys think Peeta wouldn’t make it to this list?! I know a lot of folks weren’t 100% thrilled with this casting, but I actually loved him in the movie. No, he’s not exactly what I pictured when I read the books, but I’m still very pleased with his performance!

ethan-wateEthan Wate – Alden Ehrenreich – At first I really thought he was sort of awkward. And I’ll admit… when I first saw the trailer I thought “what fresh hell is this?!” But after watching the movie and seeing him act… yeah, he blew me away. There was something different about him that really struck me. Not to mention, some of his facial movements and expressions reminded me of a younger Leonardo DiCaprio!

darcyMr. Darcy – Colin Firth – No comment needed.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Character Adaptations”

  1. President Snow was perfect. When reading Peeta– I pictured him a little more dough boyish… so at least the movie helped me understand why some might choose him over Gale. haha
    Another good one is Channing Tatum in Dear John— but that might just be because he is Channing Tatum. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    One I think we can all agree is THE WORST adaptation would be Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace in City of Bones. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

    1. Although I do admit to JCB not looking like how I pictures Jace, I’m kind of excited to see him portray Jace. From the trailer, I actually think he might nail Jace’s personality, which is more important that his appearance. But it is too early to tell. Let’s hope he’s got the character down! The TMI won’t be the same without the Jace’s personality.

      Like

      1. i agree, i was upset at first, but after seeing the trailers, i have definitely come around. and the VOICE, omg, i could just wallow in it. can’t wait to see this movie!

        Like

  2. Oooo Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy for sure! I also really liked Jeremy Irons as Macon Ravenwood (although I didn’t care for the movie), and certainly HBC as Bellatrix! Great list idea, Candice!

    Like

  3. fantastic freaking list! i agree SO HARD with so many of these! especially Peeta (Josh did a great job) and Snow (phenomenal) and Patrick (perfect, Ezra portrayed Patrick in a way that didn’t agree with what I read in the book, but showed me that I was wrong about how I pictured Patrick and I LOVED this adaptation) and Beth March (CD just broke my heart because UGH, so real and honest and perfectly right).

    Like

  4. Too right, no comment is needed about Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy! I shudder every time I think of Matthew Macfadyen in the Kiera Knightly version–gosh, I hated that movie! Left me with such a bad taste in my mouth that I wish I could unsee it.

    Like

  5. Ha, Colin Firth. No list is complete without him! I also agree about President Snow, and HBC as Bellatrix. I particularly liked in DH Pt. 2 when she was playing Hermione pretending to be Bellatrix. That was fabulous!

    Like

  6. Ooh fun topic! I agree with so many of these! Love that version of Little Women. Claire Danes is just so good in everything. And yes Ezra Miller was so good as Patrick! What a scene stealer.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

