Young Adult

Armchair BEA: Introductions and Classics

We kick off the week by starting with introductions of ourselves.  Last year, we changed things up by having everyone answer questions from a pre-determined list.  It was such a hit, that we are doing it again.  The questions and more information will be posted in the weeks leading up to the event, so you can plan accordingly.

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? I’m Candice (yay!). I’m 30. I plan events. I read books. I’ve been blogging for years now, on and off with other blogs, but with this one, The Grown-Up YA, I’ve been going for about a year and a half. AND I’VE LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT! I got into this blog because I wanted a website. I was reading YA a lot and thought the two just went together. It was kind of a random, last minute, no real thinking just doing idea. So glad I went on an impulse!

Where in the world are you blogging from? Tell a random fact or something special about your current location. Feel free to share pictures. I’m in Tuscaloosa, Alabama – Roll Tide! I guess probably the most special thing people immediately think of football and National Champions and Nick Saban… But I’m here to tell you Tuscaloosa is SO MUCH MORE! I went to college at UA and then just stayed on in town and it’s nearly transformed over the past several years into this really beautiful town that you can easily call home. There’s lots of fun things to discover, such as our River Market that is held every Saturday overlooking the Black Warrior River. One of my favorite things there: Tomato Pie (don’t knock it til you’ve tried it!). Or the ice skating rink they had back at Christmas! I braved it with a friend… way too old to ice skate! Or perhaps our awesome amphitheater that brings in super hot acts like John Mayer, the Beach Boys and Brad Paisley. Not to shabby for a small town! We’ve also got an amazing historical area that I could drive around in for hours. If you ever get the opportunity to visit our little town, you’re in for a real treat!

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2013? Since I’ll probably be reading something different when I actually post this, I’m going to go with my favorite read so far this year. Hands down Dark Triumph. I COULD NOT read this one fast enough! I was a bit hesitant going in, not really liking Sybill in the first book, but after like page 2 all my hesitancy disappeared for good! You can check out my review of it here to see all my thoughts!

Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read? I’m pretty sure all my posts need a little more reading love… But three of my favorites are really just silly posts that I want everyone to read because… well… they’re silly!

My letter to Peeta

Top Ten Emo Book Covers

Top Ten Books to save if there is a Zombiepocolypse

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you. When I was in college I interned my last summer before graduation in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba on the naval base. Yeah, with all the prisoners. That aside, it was probably one of the most unique and rewarding experiences. Granted, I hated my bosses, but that aside, it was basically 3 months on a tropical island. How can that be bad?!

cuba   cuba0

Discussion: Classics

I’ll be honest and say that I haven’t read much classic literature. It just doesn’t DO it for me. That being said, I LOVE the stories! So maybe I do like it? I dunno….

However, I do have to classic books that stand out in my mind that I really do love: The Awakening by Kate Chopin and A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen. I read both of these in high school and fell in love with everything about them – the characters, the themes, the overcoming of obstacles… for some reason the early feminism movement really spoke to me. Do I agree with Edna’s and Nora’s solution to dealing with their problems? Not at all. But I admired them for being brave enough to do them.

If I ever came across someone who was a non-classic believer but wanted to read a classic… I honestly have no idea what I’d recommend. I think the obvious choice would be Pride and Prejudice, but having recently read it… I dunno. It wasn’t for me. I’d really have to think about that one!

15 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Introductions and Classics”

  1. Nope, I totally hear you! You know I’m not much of a classic person either, although I think if I tried to read them now, it’d be a lot more successful than when I did in high school. Even still, SO many books to read and I’d rather read easier, lighter ones because hey… reading is fun 😀

    Like

  2. Wow, that’s amazing that you spent time interning at Guantanamo. That even sounds crazy to write! Henik Isben I read in college, but his work tends to come back; I’ve discussed his work in book groups, on blogs, etc. I wish I’d read more classic lit back in high school and college, so I am slowly adding in what I’ve missed over the years. I’ve read adaptations of Jane Eyre and seen the movie, but I haven’t read the original.

    Nice to meet you and your blog from Armchair BEA!

    Like

  3. I’ve been to Tuscaloosa! Only once though, because my family likes Auburn. I think I missed out on the football gene, or possibly the fact that I’ve seen what happens when Alabama and Auburn play each other….a house divided has never been more true, lol. Dark Triumph was amazing! Definitely a favorite for me as well.
    I hope you enjoy your ABEA week!

    Like

  4. Tomato pie actually sounds really good! I’m really not sure what I’d recommend to anyone looking for a classic either. Maybe something light and not too long so they wouldn’t be immediately put off by the genre.

    Like

  5. Hi Candice! I love the name of your blog 🙂 Your town sounds so interesting and like it offers a lot of great things for being a small town! I still need to read Grave Mercy (it’s on my e-reader!), and I’m sure I’ll love it, it’s just long, haha!! Wow, Guantanamo? That’s quite an experience to put on your resume!!

    I’m not big into classics, so I just didn’t answer the question today, lol 🙂

    Like

  6. The Awakening was brilliant. If you like early feminist (or strong/independent female) writing, I would highly recommend Willa Cather. Maybe O Pioneers! or A Lost Lady. I think you might enjoy her work.

    Like

  7. Hi Candice! DARK TRIUMPH. I really need to get my hands on that! I was not a huge fan of Grave Mercy at the time I finished it, but I have not been able to stop thinking about it since I read it! I guess I liked it more than I thought I did. Wow… Guantanamo Bay. Intense! I bet not many people can say they worked there. 🙂 What did you do?

    Have fun this week!

    – Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl

    Like

  8. Dark Triumph sounds awesome! I bought Grave Mercy shortly after it was released, and sadly, it’s still sitting unread on my shelf. I’ve really got to get to it.

    I’m not big on the classics, either. Most of the ones I’ve read were read for school ages ago; at the time, none of them really stood out for me. I’ve thought about giving the classics another shot now that I’m older; that is, if I can ever stop reading YA long enough, lol.

    Like

  9. Nice to meet you here @ Armchair BEA! I’m fascinated that you are an event planner — I frequently wish that I had tried my hand at it earlier in my career. I’m pretty new to book blogging, but I’m enjoying it. And I have to tell you that my daughter’s softball league (girls 10 and under) gives all the teams famous college team names and we are Alabama, with crimson shirts. Dorky parents up here in New England shouting Roll, Tide, Roll, two games a week! 🙂

    Like

  10. I loved hearing more about where you’re from! Your town sounds charming, and I personally would love to visit since I cannot get enough of the good ol’ South.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

