Young Adult

Travel By Book: NYC

If you’re anything like me, you LOVE to travel, see new places. There are lots of ways to travel too: car, train, bus, plane… but, again, if you’re like me, extensive traveling is pretty much… unextensive. So I’ve come up with a new way of traveling… BY BOOK!

travel by book

There have been many times that I’ve read a book set in a place I’ve never been and immediately felt like I was there. Who needs to ACTUALLY travel there when you’ve just experienced an incredibly journey?

Today’s Travel By Book is New York City… because, as I’m sure you may know (unless you’ve been living under a rock), Book Expo America (BEA) is next week! Many of us (not including me) will be traveling to NYC to enjoy the sights, sounds and books, books, books!

But for those of us who aren’t going, whether because of work, money, family or distance, never fear! Here is your passport* to NYC…. via books!

*yes I realize you don’t need a passport to go to New York City

The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot – One of my FAVORITE NYC based book series EVER. If you’re the type of person who likes funky coffee shops and fancy hotels, carriage rides through Central Park and shopping, this is the series for you!

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare – Another go to NYC series! While this one does seem to focus on the seedier side of NYC – you know, demons and such – it still has some GREAT attractions to see… comic book shops, clubs, cathedrals/churches… something for everybody!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan – While these books are basically like a giant road trip, a good portion of them take place (or have scenes) in NYC. Museums, stores, Empire State Building, parks, beaches… they’ve got something for whatever your tourist heart desires!

Love Story by Jennifer Echols – Ever dreamed of going to college in NYC? This one is great to live vicariously though… especially if you’re a Southern girl like myself!

Where She Went by Gayle Forman – If concerts and shows are more your thing, this one is a good pick. The conclusion to If I Stay sets our favorites Mia and Adam in NYC, years after Mia’s accident. Great way to see the city, even if just for one day!

Now, I haven’t read these few, but I’ve had some VERY trusted bloggers suggest them to me!

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Also Known As – Robin Benway

Peeps by Scott Westerfield

The Ward by Jordana Frankel

Any favorite books set in NYC? If you’ve actually been, what are some of your favorite places to go? I went last year and had a blast! Definitely looking forward to my next trip back!

7 thoughts on “Travel By Book: NYC”

  1. Even though I live here, I love love love NYC books: Love is the Higher Law (David Levithan), Super Girl Mixtapes (Meaghan Brothers), Other Words for Love (Lorriane Zago), and for a grown up book How to Kill a Rock Star is a fab one! (Tiffanie DeBartolo). Sometimes I feel like NYC is one of the most common settings in books! There’s so much to see and do here, so I can see why. (Although I’m still holding on a few more Austin Texas books!)

    Like

  2. What a fun feature you’ve created! This is the first time I’ve come across it and I look forward to more.
    Fiction is a great way to escape to destinations you’ve always wanted to go, I often do the same with films too.
    New York is a place I hope to visit in my lifetime, especially at Christmas time. Dreams will be made then.

    My Book Bubble

    Like

  3. I won’t be going to BEA either. I love the books you’ve listed, and also, I recommend you read AKA straightaway. It’s so much fun and I think you’ll love it.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Monday Mix #7 |
  5. What a great idea, to travel by books! I’m obsessed with NYC and wish everyday I could live there — and until that time comes (if ever), I’ll have to satisfy my fantasies by visiting and immersing myself in good ol’ NYC-based books. Thanks for the suggestions πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

