To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

It’s true that sometimes I read a book mainly for its cover. Sometimes I just luck out and the covers of books I want to read are AWESOME. Either way, I have a huge love for book covers, especially ones that make me think. I don’t pretend to be an art person by any means, but sometimes I just like to stare at the covers, deciphering their meanings or why certain things are placed as they are.

Here are some of my favorite book covers:

raven boysThe Raven Boys – I really love this cover. It’s pretty simplistic, but when you look closely you can see the brush marks. It’s definitely a piece of art to me!

govintage_011Going Vintage – I LOVE the colors on this! The pink and green really make it POP!

dark triumphΒ  GraveMercy_final_hresDark Triumph and Grave Mercy – I probably spent a good portion of the time I read these looking back at the covers. There are little things that caught my eye… the way Ismae holds the crossbow or the way Sybill clenches her dagger. I kept going back and forth between reading and studying the covers, looking for more depth in the pictures.

Defiance jkt des2.inddDefiance – Every time I see this cover I think Rachel is riding a horse. So I love that when I look closer, I see that she’s actually taken a knee and her cloak ends up blending into a city line. It’s such an amazing piece of art in that it tricks your eyes and lets you see new things every time!

hourglassΒ  timepieceHourglass, Timepiece and Infinityglass – These may be some of my favorite covers out there. I love how simplistic the backgrounds are in contrast with the girl who is walking up the wall, hanging from a door, and laying on the ceiling. The colors are absolutely spectacular too!

sistersredSisters Red – This is another eye confusing book that took me FOREVER to realize that the bottom half is a wolf. Very clever!

The_Sky_is_Everywhere_paperbackThe Sky is Everywhere – I adore this cover and wish I had a copy of it! I have no idea what it has to do with the book, but I seriously love it.

EntwinedEntwined – I first saw this book at the bookstore and didn’t care what it was about… I wanted to read it. I LOVE the dress mixed in with the garden scene… the muted castle in the background gives it almost an ethereal, darker tone too. P.S. I want a wedding picture like this.

such a rushSuch a Rush – It took me a while to warm up to this cover, but overall it’s kind of phenomenal. I love the hair in it. Yes, that’s weird. But it works for me!

Mumbo1The Mumbo Jumbo Circus – There’s something about this cover that I love… I think it’s the antique kind of feel it has, like an old circus poster or a book that I found hidden in the attic. I’m a huge fan of retro/old-fashioned looking covers!

splendor-fallsThe Splendor Falls – This is another one of those covers that has NOTHING to do with the book. I love how Gothic it is though, a girl lying on a coffin… a drip of blood coming from the lettering… pretty white dress… grey palate… you’d never know that this book is about an ex-ballerina sent off to Alabama for the summer!

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Covers”

  1. I really love The Raven Boys cover as well! Have you seen the cover for The Dream Thieves? It’s following the same colour combinations/illustrations scheme as TRB. The cover for Splendor Falls is really beautiful too!

    Like

  2. Such a Rush does fit the story pretty well, and I love the pb cover of The Sky is Everywhere. Going Vintage is so cute; the colors really sell that vintage vibe.

    Like

  3. great list, beautiful covers. i don’t think the sky is everywhere cover really has anything to do with the book, which is strange, i really like the other cover, with the blue and the heart…which i always get confused with the 20 boy summer book. anyway, i agree with Entwined (though i haven’t read it, i picked it up at the library b/c of the cover and then had to return it), such a rush, and going vintage. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Seriously, I love very single one of your cover choices. But you know, I think I love the hard cover of The Sky is Everywhere more just because of the pretty rose petal heart and roses play such a cool role in the book. I have the paperback that you have pictured and I *think* that maybe it’s supposed to be Lennie laying on the “forest bed” ?

    Like

  5. I love the covers for Grave Mercy and Dark Triumph, too. I haven’t read the books yet, but I just bought a signed copy of Grave Mercy, so hopefully I get to it soon. Oh my gosh, Entwined has such a gorgeous cover. And I want a dress like that πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I love the cover for The Entwined!! Sadly, I have not read it! I do have an ebook of it but just haven’t gotten around to it! I also love the new cover for The Sky is Everywhere. I have the other cover but like this one better.

    Thanks for stopping by my post!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

