To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Light and Fun

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

It seems like sometimes all I read are dark, serious books… ones that leave me depressed or sad or in a funk. There are just times when I need to read something that is so completely opposite of these books just to get out of these funks. Sometimes they may not be the best written or are entirely predictable, but you know what? Sometimes that’s okay. Sometimes it’s good to have something that requires very little thinking, that makes you laugh, that lifts your spirits. Which is why I’m super excited about today’s Top Ten!

Here are the top ten books I’d read when needing something light and fun:

The Boyfriend List – Ruby’s tale isn’t THAT light and fun, but never once do these books have a dark and serious tone. While you’re reading about the troubles Ruby is dealing with, there’s so much humor and wit that you don’t let it bog you down!

The Summer I Became a Nerd – Seriously, this would be a great beach/pool/summer read. It doesn’t deal with anything SERIOUS which is great. It’s just a fun good time and perfect for when you need something to cleanse the reading palette!

Heist Society/Gallagher Girls – I listed these two together (not cheating) because they can be used interchangeably. Not that they’re the same books… they actually are both very different and unique. I’m saying they can be used interchangeably because of how fun they are. It doesn’t matter which one you pick up, you’re going to be laughing and happy and all the good things at the end!

Texas Gothic – You may argue that this is a ghost book and is surely not light nor fun. I beg to differ and will challenge you to a duel if you do not think that, while a bit spooky, Texas Gothic isn’t packed with fun and hilarity.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making – This one isn’t really light… it’s got this odd darker light feel. Maybe like a dimly lit dining room. Or a candlelit bedroom. Anyway… I think what makes this a light and fun read to me is its narration. It almost feels like a REALLY good storyteller telling a story to a group of kids. And c’mon… Fairyland? Totally fun.

Shopaholic Books – I’m aware that after the first couple of these books you’re pretty much reading the exact same book, but that doesn’t make them any less fun! Who DOESN’T want to read about Becky Bloomwood’s crazy hijinks as she struggles through what, 6? books of overspending and then learning her lesson?

Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side – I’m not sure how this happened, but I ended up with the library’s copy of this hidden in the floor of my car… despite never having checked it out. So on a random trip to the pool, I wanted a book et voila! found this one. Sure, it SOUNDS super cheesy… but it was really good. Definitely a fun find!

Awkward – This is the quintessential definition of light and fun. I adored this book and all of the silliness and cuteness in it!

The Selection – Although serious in nature, c’mon… it’s basically a futuristic The Bachelor. There is no way that this can be anything but light. And there’s fun dresses. So there.

Lemony Snickett – Okay, okay… this series isn’t really light and I’m sure some of you will argue that it’s not very fun. In fact, it’s pretty dismal and the poor kids in it have the most unfortunate life. But whatever. I’m saying it’s light and fun because, despite all the gloominess of it, it’s fun!

And if none of these work for you…. THE PRINCESS DIARIES. Bam. Done.

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Light and Fun”

  1. terrific list! most of them i totally agree on, i just haven’t read the rest. you’ve recced Texas Gothic before and so I really need to read this now. and I think I’ll really like Jessica’s guide to dating on the dark side. wanna see if my library carries it. also, i love ruby oliver. i may have to reread soon.

    Like

  2. I reaaaally want to read The Selection! I thought it looked kind of dumb (hence the bachelor idea– even though i want the damn show… hahahhaa), but I’ve heard really great things about it so I know I have to give it a shot!! I always lean toward heavier/more serious books too.

    Like

  3. I can’t believe I forgot Jessica’s Guide! That book is totally fun. The Summer I became a nerd is definitely one I want to check out. Fab list!

    Like

  4. The Selection! I totally forgot about that one. It’s not exactly what you’d immediately think of when you think light and fun, but like you said, it’s basically The Bachelor. Searching for a princess. When you look at it that way, uh yeah, it’s totally light and fun.

    Like

  5. I’ve been wanting to check out The Girl Who Circumnavigated… must remember to pick up a copy! I only got through the first few books by Lemony Snicket — maybe because I was reading them with my son, I just couldn’t get past how many awful things happened to the poor kids. My protective parent alarms went into high gear, and I just had to quit. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Yay for The Selection! I really think I need a PB copy of it to tote around πŸ˜‰ I got Summer I became a nerd last week and I think I am going to put it off just so it can be my first pool read of the summer (I will tell you it is HARD resisting it!)

    Like

  7. yay, great list!! I’m soooo glad we got to read The Summer I Became a Nerd for SC! I think we all really loved it! I still need to read quite a few of them, but also loved Heist Society! I picked that one up thanks to you, by the way πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. I’ve only read the Shopaholic series and The Selection from your list so that gives me some to hunt down. I really want to read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her own Making.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

