Selective Collective, Young Adult

Selective Collective: Casting Call for The Summer I Became a Nerd

sc2_edited-31
This month’s book is The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller
The-Summer-I-became-a-Nerd
Synopsis: On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl’s body isn’t just unknown, it’s anti-known. And she needs to keep it that way.Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.

Casting Call:  Now, of course casting directors aren’t going to take the ideas of me seriously, but if they ever decide to…. :)

Maddie – On the outside, Maddie is a cheerleader, popular, and cool. On the inside though, she’s a total comic book loving geek. Casting her, for me, was kind of easy. I knew I wanted someone who looked pretty put together, stylish and preppy, but with a totally let go personality. The entire time I was reading all I could do was picture Bridget Mendler.
bridgit-mendle

Logan – You know how nerd is the new sexy? Yeah, Logan is definitely the reason why! He’s got floppy dark hair, blue eyes and GLASSES. Yes, glasses. And the entire time I was reading I kept picturing (you’re about to big time thank me for this) Penn Badgley. Not Gossip Girl Penn… not even sexy pin-up Penn. (Ha, Penn-up) I’m talking Woodchuck Todd Penn. Which is my FAVORITE. Sure, he looks pretty old… but whatever.
pennbadgely-easya-540

Martha – Not really a main character in the book, but definitely an important one! Logan’s mom, who was a former cheerleader, is kind of epically awesome as far as moms go. She totally comes through for Maddie in a bind and I seriously SERIOUSLY loved her. Kelly Preston, who once played a super hero mom in Sky High, made me think about Martha.
kelly-preston-premiere-savages-01

Check out the other members of the Selective Collective and see what fun things they have going on!

review button discussion button dream cast button freebie button qa button

8 thoughts on “Selective Collective: Casting Call for The Summer I Became a Nerd”

  1. Oooh those are great picks!! I love ALL of them. Don’t worry, I frequently choose people who are not real teens either because they’re just so PERFECT for the role!! 😀

    Like

  2. I seriously, siriusly (and I only make Sirius Black references when I mean it, lady) love your choice of Bridget Mendler. She’s perfect. And PB is just plain hot, which is always good. I didn’t really notice this until I watched Easy A.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

