Contemporary, Young Adult

Forever and ever you’ll stay in my heart

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

the truth about forever

The Skinny: When Macy’s super genius boyfriend Jason goes off to Brain Camp, she takes over his (suuper boring) job at the library, despite the fact that her co-workers HATE her. But when she accidentally helps out with a catering job at one of her mom’s open houses, she finds a group of friends that show her there’s more to life than the library, SAT prep and homework. Taking an actual position with the catering company, Macy begins to change and discover a new side of herself, much to the chagrin of her mother and super genius boyfriend.

BFF?: Look… I’m not saying I DIDN’T like Macy, I just didn’t like 99% of the choices she made. Sometimes I want to be a book MC interventionist and tell them “Your boyfriend is a douchebag and anyone who makes you feel miserable does not deserve your love.” Seriously, this job would be epic. Macy is just so… accommodating. She doesn’t say what she thinks or feels, not because she’s scared but because she doesn’t want to hurt people. So instead she hurts herself by allowing her mom to control her every action and her boyfriend to dictate what kind of person she is. That aside, when Macy begins to rebel against these two forces of evil in her life, she becomes this amazing girl who has a lot of passion and personality. It’s so much fun seeing her this way instead of the dead shell she seems to be around her mom and Jason.

Readability: This is my first foray into Dessen’s novels and oh man I LOVED it! It read so well, the language was clear and nice… It sounded like a teen without sounding cheesy, you know? Can’t wait to read more of her books!

Crush Level: 6
According to my friend Tee at YA Crush, I should be loving Wes. And yeah… he was pretty solid, but he didn’t sweep me off my feet. I think why my crush level is higher is because he was SUCH a good friend. Like really, I’d want to be friends with this guy. One thing I did like about him was that, despite his past, he manages to not let it dictate his life. It’s not a chip on his shoulder and he doesn’t bring it up. He also makes awesome yard art. Not really my thing, but yeah… it’s kinda cool in the book!

Bonus Points:
Catering Company
SI Exif
For those of you who don’t know, I work for a catering company (I’m its event coordinator) so it was crazy exciting to see a catering company in this book and nod and think “yeah, that’s totally accurate!” Although I did shake my head a lot and think about how poorly run the catering company was. I mean, all those served apps? Not a good idea, my friend.

Beach House
beach-house-inn
Macy’s dad (who had died prior to the book) had a beach house that they would all visit. Her sister was renovating it throughout the book, and I couldn’t help but think of going to the beach as kids. There’s something special about beach trips and old beach houses!

Commencement Speech: I have a problem: I compulsively buy Sarah Dessen books and don’t read them. I’ve got 5 of them sitting on my shelf at the moment… all unread. So I decided to read one and picked The Truth About Forever. SO GOOD! Sarah Dessen where have your books been all my life? Oh.. right… sitting on my shelf. I feel like this one was the perfect one for me to pick up first, mainly because of the catering aspect. I really connected with all the characters in it, not only for the catering part but because of the loss of a loved one part. There were so many elements in it that I feel were easily relatable! Anyway… there’s not a whole lot I can say other than I cannot WAIT to read more Dessen books!

Yearbook Quote: “There is never a time or place for true love. It happens accidentally, in a heartbeat, in a single flashing, throbbing moment.”

Superlatives – Best start to weeding through my ever growing Dessen collection!

Like this post? You may like these too:

chloe    the-disreputable-history-of-frankie-landau-banks-by-e-lockhart    the statistical probability of love at first sight

6 thoughts on “Forever and ever you’ll stay in my heart”

  1. Hahaha omg, same here! I have three Dessen books on my shelves and still haven’t read them (mostly because I’m always catching up on ARCs/egalleys and neglect books I actually own). MUST correct this soon!!

    Like

  2. Yay! So glad you loved this! This was my first Sarah Dessen book too and now I want to buy more. The next one I’m planning to read is Along for the Ride.. which is also sitting on my shelf unread lol. Great review!

    Like

  3. I’ve read a few of Dessen’s books but not this one yet. Along for the Ride is a cute one too. It’s cool to see different characters from her other books pop up again since the books take place in the same area.
    How fun that you could relate to the catering part of the story- glad they got the details right.
    Looking forward to catching up with this one over the summer!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

