Mythology

Classics Retold – Mythology “The Iliad”

ClassicsRetold

First off… I am SOOOO excited about this! After participating in The Cheap Reader’s Project: Fairy Tale, I knew I HAD to participate in her newest endeavor! This one, however, is so much bigger and it’s hosted by several other of my favorite bloggers!

I mean, obviously I’m doing Mythology because hello I love mythology. Granted, maybe I should have chosen something else so it would be more of a challenge for me but hello… mythology.

So to challenge myself a little bit, I decided to choose some mythology that actually terrifies me. I’ve read a little bit of mythology in high school and college, but have steered clear of any of the epic poems… mostly because the word “epic” scares the pants off of me!

I chose to read the Illiad, which features two of my favorites Helen and Hector (not together mind you), as well as some godly fun!

In a couple of weeks I’ll be posting about the books and movies that I’m going to be featuring as part of my Classics Retold project. I’ve gotten a few ideas so far, but could use some suggestions if you have any! I can’t WAIT to get started!!!

Oh yes!!!
Oh yes!!!
4 thoughts on “Classics Retold – Mythology “The Iliad””

  1. I was never required to read full texts of myths and classics in high school, but I’m a Greek mythology nerd and read a lot of the Greek myths FOR FUN. The Iliad was long, but somehow I finished. Though it’s not as memorable as other Greek classics, I think it’s a great idea for this project! Hope you enjoy it (and all the reincarnations)!

    Like

  2. I came thisclose to signing up for Mythology, too, but ultimately went with something else. Have you read Nobody’s Princess by Esther Friesner? It’s about young Helen, and I personally found it enjoyable. There’s a sequel, too, which is called Nobody’s Queen.

    I’m sure I’ve read others, but am currently drawing a blank. If I think of any others I’ll definitely share them with you! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m excited to see what books you choose to read for this! I’m excited that we’re both doing Homer, I hope you don’t find it too intimidating and enjoy it! You’ve got some awesome story there–Helen, the Trojan Horse, Achilles, so much good stuff to work with.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

