To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Books I wish I liked more

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

I anticipate books for all reasons – others’ recommendations, loved the first or second book in the series, the cover is pretty, the plot sounds good, I love the author… but, with that anticipation comes the possibility that I may set myself up for not liking a book. Sometimes there’s a specific reason, sometimes there’s not.

Here are the top ten books that I wish I loved more:

The Fault in Our Stars – Yeah, I’m gonna start with the biggie. I didn’t like this one as much as I hoped I would. I liked it, don’t get me wrong, but it didn’t stick with me like it seems to with everyone else. I was slightly touched at the end, but then I forgot about the book and all the feels I was supposed to have.

Everneath – This one was a HUGE let down to me! I soooo wanted to love it and just didn’t. I don’t know what it was, but it didn’t do much for me.

The Red Pyramid – As a huge fan of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series, I thought I would fall in love with this one too. I listened to the audio of it, and while I loved the narrators, the book was totally boring to me. Yes, it had all the same elements of Percy Jackson – exciting adventures with gods, traveling the US/world, bad guys – but I dunno… it lacked something that made me connect with it. Maybe it was the Egyptian gods. Either way this one was a let down for me!

Mirror, Mirror – I read Wicked back in grad school, so I just assumed I would love any of McGuire’s books as much as I loved Wicked. Boy, was I wrong. A) it was way over my head, B) it was so BORING. I just couldn’t follow it and the weirder it got the less I enjoyed it.

Stardust – I watch the movie of this over and over and over because I love it so. It’s one of my go to “I’m bored” movies because I love it so much. So surely I would love the book, right? WRONG. It was enjoyable, but I prefer the movie to it. (please don’t hate me!)

The rest of the Matched series – Amiright?

Sloppy Firsts – Everyone was all “Oh, Jessica Darling!” and “Marcus Flutie is so sexy!” and I’m all “When does this actually get good?!” I mean, it was cute, but not life changing. I couldn’t even get through the 3rd book of the series!

Insurgent – I think the problem with highly anticipated books is that you overthink them. They are going to be so awesome! So when they aren’t… it’s like you totally hate them. While I didn’t hate Insurgent, I had some major issues with it and it did not live up too all my hope!

Carrier of the Mark – Despite all the controversy around the author, I listened to this audiobook. It was fairly enjoyable and I pretty much spoke with an Irish accent for the better part of the week (at home of course). At first I was completely into the book and loved it. And then somewhere along the line, right around the time the two MCs were so desperately in love after knowing each other a week and they cannot live without each other and it would kill them to be apart… I lost interest.

Wentworth Hall -Haven’t heard of this one? We read this for Selective Collective a while ago. As a huge fan of Downton Abbey, I thought this one would be excellent in the way of me being interested in the subject. And I was. I really was. But there was something missing from it that just… didn’t live up to my expectations. It was a total let down!

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I wish I liked more”

  1. You know, now that I think about it, TFIOS has really stuck with me either. I mean, I liked it a lot, but I don’t really think about it anyone.

    And I love the Stardust movie but the book was just eh. Oh and The Red Pyramid. Totally boring.

    Like

  2. Oh no—- Insurgent!!?? I read this way before blogging and right at the start of reading YA so maybe I missed something, but I loved it!

    You’ve got me worried about Sloppy Firsts— isn’t that supposed to be the holy grail of YA ?? lol

    Amen to Matched!

    Like

  3. TFioS made my list for the same reasons it made your list too. I really didn’t like Stardust either which disappointed me because I really enjoyed The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. I haven’t read the Jessica Darling series, but a friend of mine loves it and the third book sounded like it was right up my alley, but now we’ll see lol.

    Like

  4. I liked The Red Pyramid. I thought it was cute and fun. I’m actually listening to Throne of Fire right now. I needed something adventurous without emotional baggage after Clockwork Princess. I didn’t love Matched and tried to listen to Crossed and couldn’t get into it.

    I did like TFiOS but it wasnt life altering or anything.

    Like

  5. I feel the same way about TFiOS. I cried when I read it, but I don’t really care about it now. I didn’t feel that same love that most people do. I did totally love the Everneath, though. I don’t know what it is, but there’s something about that series that has me in love.

    Like

  6. Any book I didn’t enjoy I wish I would have liked more. It’s hard spending so much time with something and coming out feeling like that time wasn’t worth it.

    Like

  7. I enjoyed TFiOS but it in no way changed my life like some people make it out to. It was good writing yes but slightly overrated IMO. I also agree with you on Insurgent..I LOVED Divergent and felt that Insurgent, while still enjoyable, was just not the same as Divergent. Here’s hoping the series ends well!

    Like

  8. I’ve been seeing TFIOS on a number of people’s blogs today surprisingly. It also made it on to my list this week, but because I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. It still holds with me, although I did read it fairly recently… Let’s see how I feel in six months to a year eh,
    You also made my decision about reading the rest of the Matched series hard too. Whilst I thought the first book was good, that’s good not amazing, I’m not too sure if I actually want to read the rest.. I wasn’t quite captured enough…

    Like

  9. I totally agree with you about the Red Pyramid. It in no way lived up to what I expected of Riordan. I also thought that Insurgent wasn’t as good as I had hoped for…I’ve actually never read TFIOS because it’s not really my type of book so I’m glad to hear someone saying I’m not missing out! Great Picks!!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

    Like

  10. Wentworth Hall killed me. I really wanted to like it! It just fell flat for me though, and I really wish that someone would write something similar but BETTER.

    I’m sad that you didn’t like The Red Pyramid! I always enjoy Riordan’s books and that one was really no exception. Still, it’s okay – everyone’s entitled to their own feelings 🙂

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

