Young Adult

Things I wish I did as a blogger

I’m sure you’ve all felt this way, like you should be doing MORE as a blogger and/or with your blog. But this isn’t one of those posts where I rant about all the things that I don’t have time to do or desire to do. I’m not going to tell you that I’m in a reading slump or a blogging slump. Instead, I’m going to tell you about the things I used to do or wish I did more of as a blogger. Because quite honestly, I miss them!

  1. Respond to comments – I used to be  such a stickler for this and now, I BARELY respond to them. What is wrong with me? This was my favorite part of blogging and even the reason I moved back from using Blogger (I felt I could never respond right on Blogger). So why don’t I?
  2. Comment on blogs more often – I love it when people comment on mine but I never seem to get chances to comment on others’ blogs. I blame it on work, because that’s easiest, but really, I have time in the day to comment. Maybe it’s not during my 8-5 job time, but in the evenings or on weekends I could EASILY show some blog love!
  3. Pick a blog look that I love – I’ve changed my blog’s look more times than I care to say. Right now, I LOVE the format, so that’s not changing. But I can’t decide on decor (background, header, etc.). I feel like I’ve given up caring about how it looks, but continuously frown over how it looks. (this is also how I feel about my hair now that we have to wear hairnets in the kitchen at work)
  4. Chatting on Twitter more – I chat a good bit, but I feel like I don’t interact on there as much as I should. Which leads me to #5
  5. Developing better blog friendships (hence known as blogships) – I’ve got some great ones, so I’m not saying I don’t; I’m just saying I want to cultivate MORE blogships! Chat on gchat (which I’m totally on and love using (hint, hint), Tweet, email, huzzah!
  6. Remember when Top Ten Tuesday is – Y’all… this one is a no brainer and yet I constantly forget when TTT is!
  7. Participate in blog tours, cover reveals, author interviews, etc. – I’ve become a lot more picky about doing these lately, mostly because all the ones I’ve been asked to participate in are either smaller books that don’t interest me or I’ve just been so overwhelmed with everything I don’t want to stretch myself too far. But I would LOVE to participate in these more!
  8. Make funny pictures – I used to do this ALLLL the time and had some pretty good ones. Here are some of my faves:

harry potter birthday   zombieedited  cropped-under-construction.jpg  closet   butt  anniversary   death-eatersedited  laurie

So… as you can see… I have a few things I need to work on. I’m not a perfect blogger by any means, but I really feel like I need to get back on track with doing all the things I genuinely used to love about blogging!

Do any of you find yourself not doing these things as often as you wish you could? What do you do to start them back up?

I needs your help!!!

 

9 thoughts on “Things I wish I did as a blogger”

  1. I love this! I can agree with so many of your points especially commenting on other blogs. I’m terrible at it!

    Since I have the same problems as you, I can’t really offer any advice on how to fix these things. I hope you’re able to figure out something!

    Like

  2. This is quite a lovely post! Even though I am just starting out I am not stressing myself over commenting back right away. I do want to comment back and I think most people are ok with a comment back a few days later (it’s better than never!)

    Like

  3. Thanks for stopping by my WOW. I’ve gotten bad about not responding to comments too. Sometimes I battle between “blogging” and actually reading. If that’s the case, I usually choose reading over blogging because reading is the reason why I blog. But I definitely need to get out more and make more blogships too! 🙂 Going to follow you via email now.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    Like

  4. This is a great post. I love comments and I try to comment on every blog I read. I want my readers to know I appreciate them taking the time to read my blog (hobby).

    Like

  5. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Twitter conversations and general conversations like on email about books and stuff. I kind of use my blog as a driving force to cultivate these other conversations and relationships sometimes. Not everyone wants to make MORE of a relationship within the community, but if it is about a book or a book-related thing (like a movie adaptation or something) I’M ALL FOR IT. So, I feel ya there.

    I’d love to be able to comment on more blogs. I used to be the world’s best commenter. Ok, not really, but I have found that as my blog has grown AND as my husband has started to work more hours, my time spent commenting has become wonky. Like, I used to set aside time each day. Now, I kind of comment in chunks, kind of like comment bombing. Sometimes I get to a blog and realize that it’s been a while since I’ve been there and I feel really bad. I’m trying NOT to feel bad because life is life, but I still do. I LOVE blogging and all that goes with it, which includes commenting and replying.

    About my design – I am NOT tech savvy. I don’t experiment with it. I had help setting my generic design up. I’m petrified to mess with it. What we have is what we will continue to have until I decide to hire someone to make something for me, which isn’t very likely anytime soon!

    This is a great post! What I love about blogging is that there is always a list of things we can/want to improve on and change, and our style changes too. AND more importantly, there is no right or wrong way to do it! I was actually talking on Twitter with a couple of reading friends about this last night!

    Like

  6. Awww, I don’t know why but this post makes me want to give you a big hug. I don’t have much trouble on the commenting front because GUILT, but what I would recommend is setting aside a time each day or however often you want to just read blogs, comment, and answer comments. That’s what I do and it works pretty well.

    I’m also working on participating in more blog tours, etc. I used to be a TOTAL snob about that stuff, but you know what? If I’m asked to be part of a tour for a book I’m interested in, I really shouldn’t care about what others might think and everything else that stops me. They’re fun, it’s my blog, and that’s all that matters.

    Oh, and I’m on gchat (and it’s on my phone which means I’m ALWAYS on) so if you ever wanna chat, I’m game 🙂

    Like

  7. I love the honesty and the heart behind this post! I certainly wish I were keeping up with a few more things – blog features, updating review archives and posting stuff on Goodreads/Barnes & Noble/Amazon regularly, responding to comments – so this post has actually served as a great reminder. I really like thinking about this; it’s giving me some great ideas!!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

