To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Before the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

Once upon a time, I didn’t blog. I used to read for fun without any pressure to read all the hot now books, write reviews, Tweet. I was, for lack of a better term, a casual reader. But would I go back to that? Not on your life! Life since the blog has been fantastic and, while sometimes I get stressed out about reading and blogging, I do love my reading habits now that I do blog!

Before the blog, I read some pretty good books, some that have stuck with me and have still remained my favorites, despite all the other excellent books I’ve read since then. These books and a strong need to talk about them were probably some of the reasons I got into book blogging in the first place. No, they aren’t really original and pretty much everyone and their brother have read them, but they still hold a place in my heart!

Here are the top ten favorite books I read BEFORE I was a blogger:

The Princess Diaries – I may have obsessed read this series. I may have nearly come to blows with a 10 year old who got the 3rd book off the library shelf before I could. I may have read fanfiction after finishing the last book of the series just so I wouldn’t have to say goodbye to Michael Mia. This series… whoa. Was the best.

The Chronicles of Narnia – My 4th grade teacher first read this series to us as a class and ever since then I have loved both this series and fantasy books. And not just fantasy… but magical, mystical lands that are filled with adventure. I know I talk about Narnia all the time on the blog, but still… it’s that wonderful.

Hunger Games series – Not surprising here… but I obsessed read this series too way before I blogged. I think this was one of the first series that REALLY got me into dystopian books.

Gemma Doyle series – My first experience with a Libba Bray book. I actually heard about these from a book agent’s blog that I followed and checked them out. Loved them oh so much!

Starcrossed – I may have totally fangirled over this book the first time I read it. It was seriously THAT GOOD. Granted, second time around it wasn’t all that grand, but that first time was fabulous.

Percy Jackson series – After seeing the movie I wanted nothing more than to read these books. I even BOUGHT them under the distinct impression that I was going to love them, something I never do. But yeah… I couldn’t get enough of this series and have loved reading and re-reading them!

City of Bones – I think we all remember that first book character that really got us hot under the collar. For me it was totally Jace. Ohhh… Jace.

Wither – I really only read this book because of the cover, but lemme tell you… sometimes covers don’t lie. I absolutely fell in love with this book and knew it was a thing before I even discovered it was a thing among people who actually liked books like these.

Divergent – The very first book I reviewed on my blog! I had read this a while before I started blogging and really needed a place to talk about all my love for it. Now, I’m not saying that this book started the blog, but it was the first one I decided to review… and the rest has been wonderful history!

The Perks of Being a Wallflower -Kinda feel like this is the best for last. I had heard about the movie being made and wanted to see what it was about… mostly because I love Logan Lerman and think he’s just the cutest thing ever. While I had read a lot of YA at this point, this was probably the first deep YA book that I had read, one that dealt with serious issues and proved to me that YA books were way more than Twilight.

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Before the Blog”

  1. I read The Princess Diaries before I started my blog too! Its such a fun series, I even read some of the little .5 books that happen between the real ones 🙂

    Like

  2. YES!! Chronicles of Narnia!! You’ve got some good ones on here. 🙂 I was the same with Wither— it was one I found just from reading the description on the back of the book. haha

    Like

  3. what a great list! i’ve read most of these, though I do need to read Narnia. Maybe I’ll wait until Jaxon is old enough and we can read it together.

    Like

  4. I swear my teenage years was all about Princess Diaries and Meg Cabot. I love that you point out that Divergent lead you to blogging because I literally forced friends to read it so I could have someone to talk to. No one was upset I made them read Divergent 🙂

    Like

  5. I love HP, TMI, HG and DIVERGENT. I still need to finish the Narnia books. I’ve only read the first one and that was way back in elementary school. It says a lot about the book, though, that I can STILL remember scenes from it.

    Happy TTT!

    Like

  6. Oh you’ve got some great ones on here. I didn’t do a TTT today, but if I did, the Percy Jackson books would’ve made my list AND City of Bones. I was commenting earlier that I think it was City of Bones that actually inspired me to be a blogger, but it wasn’t actually on blogger, it was a Tumblr (that doesn’t exist anymore) which has now led to my blog a few years later. Seriously, though, your list is great. And I still need to read some of them!

    Like

  7. The Hunger Games of course!! That was definitely one (the whole series really) that hooked me and got me into YA.
    Wither was one of my favorites that I had read RIGHT when I started my blog (or close to it). Loved it!!

    Like

  8. I love how the Princess Diaries keeps popping up on so many of your lists. 🙂 You’re making me want to pick the books up again (and actually finish the series this time, haha).

    Like

  9. So many good books! No wonder you started blogging after you read these. They are so inspiring. I was late to the Perks party but it’s a new favorite.

    Like

  10. I still really need to read Perks and the Gemma Doyle series DX It’s cool that you started the blog because you needed to talk about Divergent with other people!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

