Paranormal, Young Adult

The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

raven boys

The Skinny: Blue comes from a family of psychics and, for as long as she can remember, has been told that one day she will cause her true love to die. When she visits a grave yard to look for the soon to be dead with her clairvoyant aunt, she sees Gansey – who speaks to her. Hesitant about this, she finds out that Gansey is one of the students at the all-boy school, Aglionby, commonly known as Raven Boys. Blue has made a pact with herself to stay away from the snobby rich Raven Boys, but curiousity leads her to him and his mysterious quest to find a lost Welsh king.

BFF?: I’m pretty sure that I WOULD have liked Blue had I been able to fully connect with her. I mean, she was a fun character, thoughtful and deep, had a kind of dry humor, but I never really felt like I connected with her. The thing about this book is that you don’t get inside just one character’s mind… you get inside them all. So it was hard connecting to anyone 100%, even though the book was filled with characters I really and truly loved.

Readability: Can Maggie write anything that’s NOT beautiful? This one was so enchanting to read, the words were flowing and beautiful. It was a little slower, but in a good way. I love when reading books isn’t a rushed thing!

Crush Level: ???
I’m not really sure who to crush on here! I really loved Adam and his charming manners, but towards the end he began to get a little darker which made me uncertain. Gansey was simply adorbs with his rich boy ways, but reminded me a hair too much like Logan from Gilmore Girls. Not that I have complaints about that, but, I dunno… I just wasn’t fully invested in the crush yet. Perhaps time will tell!

Bonus Points:
Welsh Kings/History
king_arthur05
I know NOTHING about Welsh history, but seriously, it all seems so super interesting to me! I love how the language looks vs how it sounds. I love the mysticism behind it. It makes me want to learn all the things about it!

Enchanted Forest
forest
I don’t want to give anything away but there’s an enchanted forest in the book and omg it’s amazing!

Family Issues
Kardashians
Not so much a bonus point as it made the characters deeper. All of the raven boys had some kind of family drama, whether it was from an abusive father, a feudal fraternal relationship, or just a set of apathetic parents. Definitely helped each of the raven boys develop and their characters shine through!

Commencement Speech: This is one of those books I’ve been meaning to read for a long time now, so I was really glad that it was part of our FYA book club reads! I’ve also really been wanting to read more by author Maggie Stiefvater, so this has been a nice follow up to my other favorite by her The Scorpio Races. I love how beautiful she weaves together plots, giving out only snippets of information to us to leave us not really in suspense, but enthralled in whatever world she’s creating.

My main “issue” with this book was that I didn’t really connect to the characters. Instead, I connected to the world, to the plot, to the secrets and mysteries surrounding Gansey’s quest. It was really different to connect to these things rather than the characters, but a different feeling that I overall loved.

Yearbook Quote:  “If I were a tree, I would have no reason to love a human.”

Superlatives – Most likely to be found on Edgar Allen Poe’s book shelf

Like this post? You may like these too:

the-scorpio-races    miss p book cover with border    timepiece

8 thoughts on “The Raven Boys”

    1. Yay! I’ve only read The Scorpio Races, but LOVED it! She’s also got a series out about werewolves? Maybe? I own the first book in that series, but haven’t read it.

      Like

  1. I agree – We were SO invested in SO many characters that I didn’t connect as well as I wanted to with Blue either, but I loved how the stories came together once they started intertwining!
    Oh, I was crushing on Adam a little bit there! But I agree – Gansey was TOO “President Cell Phone” too much of the time and other times he was a total mess. It was hard to crush on him but I did feel for him!
    OMG that forest!!! That was so the best part of the book. And THE BIG TWIST 🙂

    Like

  2. This is one that I want to read and I actually have it on the Kindle, but I’ve heard that it has a cliffhanger ending, so I’m a bit reluctant. I’ve read Shiver and Linger (which I liked okay) and I LOVED The Scorpio Races, so I don’t doubt that I will find at least something inside the book to connect with. BUT I just don’t want a massive cliffhanger ending to have to deal with until the next book comes out. So I don’t know! Another reader told me that the cliffhanger was worth it because Maggie’s writing is so beautiful. Still, I’m not sure! So this one is absolutely an interest of mine – I like what you say here – the question is WHEN will I pick it up??

    Like

  3. I’m a huge Maggie Stiefvater fan, and this book was absolutely wonderful. Her writing was stellar, as always. And the story was just so gosh darn interesting! I had a fun time weaving the entire plot together and getting to know these characters. I’m very curious about what will happen next for everyone, if I’m being honest.

    Like

  4. I loved Maggie Stiefvater’s writing in Shiver, and started listening to the audiobook of Scorpio Races but couldn’t get into it (probably because of the format) but Raven Boys is one on my TBR that I can’t wait to get to. Thanks for your review.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

