To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – I wants these series!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

I have a love/hate relationship with series. On the one hand, I love getting the opportunity to become super attached to characters, to get to know them in-depth and follow their epic adventures. On the other hand, they are a little old. I hate waiting for the next one to come out. I’m extremely impatient!

That being said, I do like discovering older series that are finished or nearly finished, ones that I can get into and stay in until I’m done… without having to wait for the next one!

Here are my Top Ten series I want to read:

Mara Dyer – I’ve really been wanting to check this series out, but just haven’t. Really should, because I’ve heard good things!

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – These movies are some of my favorites and I own the first two books in the series. Duh.

Wolves of Mercy Falls – Wolves totally aren’t my thing, but I do love Maggie Steifveiter… soooo….

Shades of London – The newest one in this series just came out and everyone is gushing. Not wanting to be left in the dark, I need to read this series!

Maze Runner – I have a feeling this is one of those series that I’m going to love but it’s going to take some pushing to get me to read it.

Lux – Everyone keeps talking about this series and the guy on the cover is super hot. Worth checking out!

Ruby Oliver – E. Lockhart writes such cute things… I really think this series will be great!

Wicked Lovely – I’m not really sure what these are, but I get a sneaky suspicion I’ll like them!

Anne of Green Gables – Can you BELIEVE I’ve never read these? I really, really must!

Austenland – After reading Pride & Prejudice last month and newly becoming obsessed with the Lizzie Bennet Diaries, I am sure this one is right up my alley! And, best of all, I OWN this one! Found an ARC of it at our library’s used book store!

 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – I wants these series!”

  1. I am really excited to read Mara Dyer too. I just got the first 2 in the mail this week- so hopefully getting to them soon! I can’t help but smile any time I see anything about Anne of Green Gables. I remember loving those books as a kid and watching the movies all the time. I can’t wait until my little girls are old enough to enjoy them.

    Like

  2. I’m with you — I think I need to limit myself to only reading series that are finished as I’m super impatient, too. That being said, I LOVE series books. Funny enough, I’m in the middle of several of the series on your list — Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, The Maze Runner, Anne of Green Gables, etc. I am current on The Shades of London, though, and it’s a good one 🙂

    Glad to have found you via TTT!

    Like

  3. Oh my bosom friend, you MUST read Anne of Green Gables. I’m going to read them again with my daughter in a year or two. Hurrah! I have the second Mara Dyer on my Kindle but haven’t read the whole thing yet; I’m from Miami, so I love that it’s set there.

    Like

  4. ooh, I loved the first book in Shades of London, like A LOT. and I have the second one waiting for me…soon…soon. and you definitely need to read Anne of Green Gable. at least the first three. Couldn’t get into Maze Runner, though I listened to most of the audio for the first book. I don’t know if it was because it was audio because sometimes I cannot get into a book that way.

    Like

  5. Oh my gosh! So many amazing series that you need to read! The Ruby Oliver books? YES! The Shades of London?! YES! Travelling Pants?! YES! Maze Runner? YES! Get going!! :p

    Like

  6. I would definitely recommend The Maze Runner! All the books are out so you won’t have to wait for the next one and I found them to be pretty quick reads. I’m not much of a dystopian fan, but I LOVED this series. I think it’s one of my favorites.

    Like

  7. I agree about reading old series – it’s like getting the TV boxset and not having to wait for the next episode! Maze Runner has been on my radar for a while, and I got an ARC of Shades of London title recently. Look forward to hearing what you think about all these!

    My TTT

    Like

  8. I’m totally with on Mara Dyer. I’ve read the first couple books of Anne Of Green Gables and liked them, so at some point, I really need to read the rest of them. Shades of London and Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants are great.

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that has a love/hate relationship with series!

    Like

  9. I was going to comment about the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (LOVED!) and Lux (I want to read this too!), but I’m stuck on Anne of Green Gables. You haven’t read them yet?! You must remedy this right away. This is one of my favorite series, and it definitely makes me nostalgic for my pre-teen/teen years just thinking about it.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

