Selective Collective, Young Adult

Selective Collective: Author Kristin Halbrook

Our February book, Nobody But Us, is a debut novel by Kristin Halbrook.

NobodyButUs_final

A little bit about the author (from her website)

When I was little, I wanted to be a writer, the President of the USA or the first female NFL quarterback. Despite being able to throw a wicked spiral, I didn’t really grow to the size needed for the NFL. Then, as I got older and studied more, I came to realize there were better ways to effect positive change than becoming president. The first one, however, stuck. Even when I was pursuing other dreams, I always took time to write here and there. My first attempt at a novel was adult upmarket fiction, but it felt a little forced. Then I wrote a Young Adult. Put it aside as part of my writing apprenticeship. Wrote a Middle Grade, also put it aside. Then another Young Adult, then another. Then WILL & ZOE, which will be published by HarperTeen.

When I’m not writing or reading (which is what I do all day, in all of my work), I’m spending time with pixies, my Mad Scot soulmate, and one grumpy cocker spaniel; traveling across oceans and time; cooking and baking up a storm; and watching waves crash and suns set on the beach. I currently live, love and explore in The Emerald City, though I occasionally make wispy, dream-like plans to move to New York, Paris or a Scottish castle one day (if just temporarily). You can reach me at kristinhalbrook@gmail.com.

Check out the other parts of The Selective Collective to discover more about Nobody But Us

Think you might want to read Nobody But Us? Here’s how YOU can win your very own copy!

Simply comment on this post and leave your first name and email address. For an extra entry, “like” the Selective Collective on Facebook! (just make sure to tell me you liked us!)

Rules for entering:

  • You must be a U.S. resident
  • You must be over 13
  • You must enter by 11:59 pm (Central Time) on 03/01/13
5 thoughts on “Selective Collective: Author Kristin Halbrook”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

