Young Adult

Book Blogger Love-A-Thon: Interview w/ Mel @ The Daily Prophecy

As part of the Book Blogger Love-a-Thon, hosted by Alexa at Alexa Loves Books and Kate at Kate’s Tales of Books and Bands, I have the awesome chance to share with you a little bit about one of our fellow bloggers, Mel from The Daily Prophecy! Seriously, this girl’s blog is where it’s at. She’s a huge fan of fairy tales too, so I have no doubt this interview swap was meant to be!
Here we go…
Me: I LOVE that we live in different countries. Tell us a little about home (be however specific you want!).
Mel: I live in the Netherlands in a city nearby the sea. I love to go to the beach in the summer, but we don’t have many warm days (unfortunately!) I love living here, because there are many great places to visit. We have different castles, zoos, amusementparks and of course shopping centers 😉
Me: What are three random facts about you that make up who you are?
Mel: Shy. Disney. Student.
Me: I saw on your blog that you’re a huge fairy tale fan (yay!). What’s one of your favorite tales? Any great retellings of it that you’ve read?
Mel: Oh yes, I am! 😀 Without a doubt, Beauty and the beast! I love Heart’s blood by Juliet Marillier. Cameron Dokey’s – Belle was also a lot of fun to read.
Me: Okay quick: best review you’ve written?
Mel: Jodi Lynn Anderson – Tiger Lily.
Me: I’m a huge fan of all the great YA books that are being optioned for movie/TV. Do you have a favorite YA(or any book) book that’s either been turned into a movie or is soon to be one?
Mel: I’m not really a fan of books turned into movies. Some work (the movies from LOTR are far better than the books in my opinion) but most of the time I end up being disappointed by the lack of details.

Non-YA: The book thief, although I’m very scared to see how that turns out. I’m not sure if they can translate the beauty of that book on the screen. The Hobbit movies of course.

YA: I decided to read The mortal Instruments after seeing the trailer, so I’m looking forward to the first movie! (+ I can’t wait to see Jonathan Rhys Meyers, I like him) The forest of hands and teeth, because I loved that series. Paranormalcy and The Hunger Games: Catching fire, my favorite book from the three.

I know it has nothing to do with the question, but I’m also very happy with the upcoming fairytale movies, like Malificent with Angelina Jolie! Not to mention all the animation movies 😀

Me: Finally, what is your favorite thing about blogging? What makes you excited about it? 

Mel: Connecting with other booklovers. I love to talk about books and discuss topics like ‘e-books or paperbacks?’ Nobody I know reads as much as I do, so this is a great way to express my love for books 🙂

Yay! Thanks to Mel and especially to Alexa and Kate! Can’t wait to meet new bloggers and share my love all  my wonderful bloggy friends!

3 thoughts on “Book Blogger Love-A-Thon: Interview w/ Mel @ The Daily Prophecy”

  1. Yay! I need to read Heart’s Blood! It has been on my TBR list for a while but I didn’t know it was a retelling! And I had no idea all these books were coming to the big screen! I REALLY hope they don’t mess up the book – I always get so nervous. And Mel you are so great at connecting with other bloggers! I still don’t know how you even found our blog in those first couple days (but i’m glad you did!) 🙂 🙂

    Great questions Candace! Ps: what country do you live in?!

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

