Dystopian, Young Adult

Bzzzzzt! You’re dead.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

shatter me

The Skinny: Juliette, locked in isolation with out any human contact, has a touch that is lethal. In a world that is crumbling, as long as Juliette doesn’t hurt anyone, no one cares about her. But when she gets a cell mate, things begin to change. She suddenly finds herself escaping only to enter into the hands of the group that locked her up to begin with, known as the Reestablishment. Taken to a military establishment, its leader, Warner, informs her that he wants her to use her abilities to help their cause. But Adam, her former cell mate and a soldier, warns her of the corruptness of the Reestablishment. As Juliette faces the dangers of helping the Reestablishment and her powers, she must decide what her ability is: lethal or power.

BFF?: It’s kind of hard to want to be BFFs with someone who is slightly mental, but Juliette makes it a little easier by being completely awesome. Once she escapes the confines of the asylum (if you can call it that), she slowly begins to ease away from her crazed state and emerge as this total badass who isn’t scared to stand up to Warner. However, at the same time, she’s nearly terrified of her abilities and its effects, somewhat inhibiting her during her time at the military base. Me, personally, if I had her power I’d go around touching everyone until I had escaped. Bzzt! You’re dead. Bzzt! You’re dead.

Readability: Even though there were times where the book read clearly, there were a lot of parts that were total stream of consciousness that I LOVED. I loved how Juliette’s true thoughts were scratched out and replaced with more appropriate thoughts. I felt like I got into her head and didn’t leave once.

Crush Level: 7
I’m not really sure what anyone sees in Warner. I didn’t hate him or anything, but I didn’t see what his appeal was. Adam, on the other hand, was kind of hot. However, I sort of thought of him as Riley from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Super hot, nice, flirtatious, witty. Captain of the football team kind of guy. I don’t think I’ve mentioned how much I disliked Riley from BTVS though. Adam, however, was a little deeper, which I think made him hotter and my crush level higher. Even though he was great, I don’t trust him. I feel like there’s something about him that just doesn’t sit right with me… which may have made his crush level go up a notch!

Bonus Points:

Government Corruption
pres snow

Is there anything better than a corrupt government? In a book, I mean! I love seeing them and the Reestablishment was no exception!

On the run
running
While I hope I never find MYSELF on the run, I do like when it’s part of a story. Especially when there are instances of being caught and escaping! Juliette and Adam’s escaping was pretty exciting, often keeping me on the edge of my seat.

Commencement Speech: I received this book from my Broke and Bookish Secret Santa, but let it sit on my shelf for so long! After going through a few books that just didn’t grab my attention, I decided to pick it up and read it. Wowzer! It was SOOO good! Like so good that I snuck it with me to work and pulled it out when my boss wasn’t around. I think what I loved most about it was that while it was more fast paced, it took time to develop characters and relationships. Sure, there was a little insta-love between Adam and Juliette, but they had known each other as children so there was something to base it on. While I wanted to know MORE about the characters – their backgrounds, why they are the way they are, who they really are – I felt satisfied being in the dark. For example: Warner is apparently in love with Juliette, but we see NOTHING about why he is. It’s like he’s in love with her from the moment he saw her. Usually this would annoy me, but for some reason I just went with it. Like it was a mystery to be solved. Shatter Me set up a lot of questions about the characters, the relationships, the actions of others… but didn’t leave me aching to read more. I love when books do that; makes waiting on the next one a whole lot easier!

Yearbook Quote: I spent my life folded between the pages of books.”
Superlatives: Most likely Bzzt! You’re dead.
Like this post? You may like these:
tiger lily   GraveMercy_final_hres   Divergent_hc_c(2)
7 thoughts on “Bzzzzzt! You’re dead.”

  1. Perfect timing on this review…. I am starting Unravel Me today!! Plus, I just re-read Shatter Me last night! Juliette is def badass. I love it when she grabs Warner’s gun, clocks him in the face…. and Adam just looks at her and says: “HOLY SHIT.” hahahhaa But 7, only a 7 for ADAM?!??! What about the shower, THE SHOWER, THE SHOWER?!?! 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha, yes… Adam was kind of really hot. Probably deserved a higher rating… But I’d like to see where we’re going with him. There was just something about him that… I dunno, made me a little hesitant to squeal over his sexiness. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m team Warner on this one, mostly because I feel like there’s more to that dude than meets the eye. I can’t handle the insta-love with Adam, so I’m hoping for a slow-burn, turning the bad guy good kind of romance throughout the trilogy. I’m not really a girl who loves bad boys, so I don’t know where this is all coming from! Are you planning to read Unravel Me?

    Like

    1. I wasn’t sure about Warner in this one. I didn’t see what the appeal was. Then I read Destroy Me and I kinda want to see where we’re going with him. Because really, I WANT to see Warner as the love interest. Adam was hot, don’t get me wrong, but the insta-love was meh and I don’t really trust him. Definitely planning on reading Unravel Me!

      Like

  3. 😀 I’m so happy you enjoyed this one, Candice!! I also loved the stream of consciousness writing. And I love Adam and stand firm on the Team Adam front…but DAMN THAT WARNER DOES THINGS TO MY FEELINGS!! Not so much in this one, but the next one. Can’t wait to see what you think about that one!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

