To Do Lists

Top Ten Tuesday – Best Bookish Moments

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

This one really SHOULDN’T be hard, but I have a feeling it kind of will be. Although I should have a lifetime of bookish moments, since I’ve been reading all my life, it may be hard to come up with some definite ones!

Today’s Top Ten are my top ten bookish moments:

Finding Jellicoe Road at my favorite used bookstore – I have this mental list of books I look for whenever I go to this store. It’s like a scavenger hunt! Finding Jellicoe Road was super exciting

Harry Potter 6 debut – I didn’t actually read the HP books when they came out – I was a little late getting on the Hogwart’s Express – but I remember when it came out, I worked at a summer camp and they actually had to ban Harry Potter discussions during that summer.

Finding a first edition Beatrix Potter book – Found this box of Beatrix Potter books at an antique store a few months ago. Most were from the 30s, but there was one that was from like 1904 or whenever she wrote them! It was kind of amazing and had I had the money, it would have been mine!

The first time Peeta appeared in the Hunger Games – Oh, squeal for joy!

Buying Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married – This book changed my life. Okay, not really. But it’s super grand!

Reading The Sky is Everywhere – I don’t want to ever feel that way again!

Finding an autographed first edition of 13 Alabama Ghosts at my gmom’s house – Oh, and finding they used to be buds back in the day!

Seriously, that’s about it. I need to make some more bookish memories!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Best Bookish Moments”

  1. Okay, seriously, I think a higher power is trying to get me to read The Sky is Everywhere. THAT BOOK IS EVERYWHERE. Apparently I need to get on that? Or is your comment saying that I should stay away?!
    Also, I need to find a good used book store around here. Stat. I need amazing Jellicoe Road-type discoveries!

    Like

    1. You definitely SHOULD read The Sky is Everywhere! It’s so good!

      We happened to stumble across this used bookstore. It’s called 2nd and Charles, which I think is a chain, but it’s HUGE. Like I’d say easily bigger than B&N or BAM (or whatever other chain bookstore there is!).

      Like

  2. Ahhh The Sky is Everywhere!!! I just found a copy in the used book store and bought it because it needed to be on my shelf.
    I love all the HP memories!! It’s such a fun thing for everyone to bond over because I’m sure we all have a HP memory or two! 🙂

    Like

  3. They banned HP discussion?? That’s awesome. That reminds me of when the 7th book came out, I was on a student trip to Europe and the trip leader banned any talk of HP because a lot of us were reading the book at the same time but at different speeds.

    Like

  4. How could I forget Beatrix Potter? Thanks for the reminder! I loved The Sky is Everywhere. I feel like it never got all the love and praise it deserves. Let’s keep spreading the word!

    Like

  5. That’s so funny that there was a Harry Potter Discussion ban at the summer camp. It makes sense though. And finding a first edition of Beatrix Potter! Whoa!

    Like

    1. Well the kids were reading the books and were all at different parts, they started talking about things, kids got angry about spoilers… it apparently got pretty dirty!

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

