Fairy Tales, Young Adult

The better to smell you with, my dear

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

scarlet

The Skinny: When we last left Cinder, she had been captured after crashing Emperor Kai’s ball and threatening Queen Levana. Cinder must escape from prison and, with the help of a new found “friend” Thorne, track down the one person she thinks can help her: Michelle Benoit. But what she doesn’t know is that Madame Benoit is missing. Scarlet, Michelle Benoit’s granddaughter, is searching for her missing grandmother. When she meets Wolf, a member of a secret organization, who says he can help her find her grandmother, she is wary but welcomes the help. As both pairs’ paths cross, they soon find themselves deeper in the impending war between the Lunars and Earth.

BFF?: So we all know my love of Cinder, right? I don’t need to repeat it. Let’s start with Scarlet. I thought she was totally rad, badass, no doubt about it awesome! She wasn’t nearly as sassy as Cinder, but that was okay because she was totally awesome. I think I just said that. I think I liked that she was more actiony, going after her grandmother, fighting the bad guys, jumping from trains. Who WOULDN’T want a BFF like that? But there was much more to her than badassery, oh yes there was! She was totally kindhearted, caring and fierce. Can’t wait to see more from the Lunar Girls and I totally want to be one of them!

Readability: Even though I “read” Cinder, I really only listened to it, so this is the first I’ve gotten to actually read Meyer’s work and lemme just say: it does NOT disappoint! I was so engrossed in this book I didn’t want to stop reading. I didn’t want to put it down, despite having to put it down. I got about half an inch from the end and literally got sad that the book was almost over. And when it was over, I wanted to read it again immediately. It was that readable!

Crush Level: 8
While Kai only got a 7, Wolf gets an 8! An 8! There’s just something super sexy about a tortured, dark and mysterious boy and Wolf is the definition of that! Although he has this pretty rough exterior, we get little glimpses into his personality that really shine. He’ll make a small joke or smile at something Scarlet says and it’s like le sigh… I wants him! But what I think makes him most appealing is the fact that you aren’t sure if he’s good or bad. I know that prob says a lot about me, but it’s true. Unless you’ve been living under a rock you know the story of Little Red Riding Hood, in which the wolf is BAD. But here the wolf is GOOD. But you’re thinking “he’s got to be BAD, right?” I really loved it!

Oh, and there was Thorne… who I hear is gonna totally rock our socks off soon! He wasn’t really dreamy as he was goofy hot, but I have high high hopes for him!

Bonus Points:

Jedi Lunar Mind Control
not-the-droids

Cinder learns to use her Lunar mind control in the book and there were several scenes that made me think of Obi Wan Kenobi saying “These are not the droids you are looking for.” Such a nerd!

Futuristic France
France_Tourism
While Cinder takes place in Futuristic Asia, Scarlet takes place in Futuristic France. And while Futuristic Asia seemed more futuristic, I loved that Futuristic France seemed more familiar. Futuristic.

Veggies

veggies

Apparently Wolf had never eaten veggies, so when Scarlet gave him some, he loved them! Eat your veggies, kiddos!

Commencement Speech: Scarlet is EASILY one of the best books I’ve read this year. It was action packed, swoony, and deep. I loved that it took a story we were already familiar with (Cinder) and wove it intricately with a second story (Scarlet). The way that both Cinder’s and Scarlet’s paths intertwine was perfect and definitely intriguing. Like Cinder, I loved seeing elements from the original fairy tales popping up and totally surprising me. Like when she finds her grandmother and does the whole “Grandmother, your eyes are so big!” thing. Totally took me by surprise! Seriously though, hands down great follow-up to a debut novel and my only complaint is that I have to wait until 2014 to read the next book, Cress!

Yearbook Quote: None! ARC!
Superlatives: Best use of Jedi mind tricks
Like this post? You may like these:
cinder   sistersred   Cinderella-Blue-Dress
6 thoughts on “The better to smell you with, my dear”

  1. I know, waiting until NEXT YEAR to read Cress is just plain panful. I loved Scarlet, and I was in the same boat as you. I listened to Cinder, so Scarlet was the first Meyer book I read, read. But I loved it. And I totes agree, I find Wolf a bit more swoonworthy than Kai. Although I think Kai is totally dreamy, and I think he is just perfect for Cinder.

    Like

  2. I loved this one as well! Have you read THE QUEEN’S ARMY, the novella Marissa Meyers wrote to be read before SCARLET? You can read it online for free at Tor.com and it gives Wolf’s back story. if you loved Wolf you will love this little book!

    I liked SCARLET more than CINDER and am VERY excited for CRESS (we finally get to travel to the MOON!)

    And YES to more Thorne! Can’t wait to see how is character develops in the story arc!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

