Selective Collective, Young Adult

Selective Collective: Casting Call for Level 2

sc2_edited-31
Our second Selective Collective book this month is Level 2 by Lenore Appelhans! Which is totally fascinating you guys… I highly suggest you check it out! This week I get to tackle the casting for it, which was SUPER hard for me! You guys, I totally suck at casting, no joke.
Synopsis: Three levels. Two loves. One choice. Debut novelist, Lenore Appelhans has written a thrilling otherworldly young adult novel about a place that exists between our world (Level 1) and what comes after life (Level 2).‘I pause to look around the hive – all the podlike chambers are lit up as the drones shoot up on memories … I’ve wanted to get out of here before, but now the tight quarters start to choke me. There has to be more to death than this.’Felicia Ward is dead. Trapped in a stark white afterlife limbo, she spends endless days replaying memories, of her family, friends, boyfriend … and of the guy who broke her heart. The guy who has just broken into Level 2 to find her.Felicia learns that a rebellion is brewing, and it seems she is the key. Suspended between heaven and earth, she must make a choice. Between two worlds, two lives and two loves
Casting Call:  Now, of course casting directors aren’t going to take the ideas of me seriously, but if they ever decide to…. :)

Felicia – When we first meet Felicia, she is living in Level 2. She doesn’t really have a specific look, as everyone in Level 2 is colorless – no hair, pale skin, and wearing a white shift. But in her memories we see what she looked like before death and we’re introduced to the person Felicia was in life. I think first and foremost whoever is cast as Felicia needs to be able to pull off bald. Like a boss. Personally, I think Leighton Meester would look lovely bald, and she certainly has the dark hair for all the flashback scenes!

Leighton-blair-waldorf-628998_1024_768

Julian – He’s this edgy, badass kind of guy, with a sharp sense of humor and a little danger underneath. None of which describe my casting choice for him…. but after seeing this picture of David Henrie he’s getting cast in EVERY role!

david-henrie-glamoholic (11)

Seriously though, I really love David Henrie. Sure, he was more slapstick funny on Wizards of Waverly Place, but I really think he could pull off some good serious roles.

Neil – I see Neil as being this golden, church boy. The kind who is sort of goody-goody, like annoyingly so sometimes. I don’t really think of him as being drop dead gorgeous, but having a certain something about him that makes him attractive. Maybe it’s his personality. Maybe it’s his singing voice. Maybe it’s the goody-goody, not a rebel without a cause-ness. Either way, Felicia found him attractive. My choice (thanks to my SC gals for suggestions!) for Neil is Johnny Weston (geez, even his name sounds goody-goody)!

Johnny Weston

Check out the other members of the Selective Collective and see what fun things they have going on!

review button discussion button dream cast button freebie button qa button

10 thoughts on “Selective Collective: Casting Call for Level 2”

  1. Great choices! I’m not really familiar with any of these actors, but the way they look definitely works. I especially love your Felicia (only I didn’t picture Felicia smiling much except in her memories of Neil).

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

