To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Settings I’d Like To See More Of

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

Settings are SUPER important to me. It doesn’t matter if they’re real or make-believe; present, future or past. As long as they’re vivid, I love them to pieces.

But yeah, there are tons more settings I’d like to see more of. While I’m not sure if I’D be willing to tackle them (if I was a professional writer) I’d love to see more of them from writers I love!

Today’s Top Ten are the  Ten Settings I’d Like To See More Of:

Alabama – I have an affinity to read just about anything that’s set in Alabama (where I live) and would love to see more books that take place in my home state.

Ireland – There just need to be more books set in Ireland.

Scotland – Ditto for Scotland.

Caribbean Islands – While I’ve never been (unless you include my internship in Cuba) I think there’s something kind of spectacular about books set on tropical islands. Lush landscapes, sparkling waters, hidden grottoes where making out could take place…

The Sea – Maybe not really actually on the sea, but there’s something about the ocean that I love. I feel like in most of my writing there is an element about the ocean and how it affects the characters. Definitely would like to see this more!

Airports – Dude, I love airports. More airports please!

1910s – Blame it on Downton Abbey, but I absolutely love this era right now! I want to read all the books set in this time period!

Prague – While I’ve only read two books set in Prague, I’ve fallen in love with it thanks to them! From the beautiful to the dirty sides, it’s super interesting and wrought with history!

Fairy Tale Worlds – Neverland, Wonderland, Far Far Away… I want to see more of these worlds in strange and new ways!

“Religious” Settings – Heaven and Hell, the Underworld, convents, churches, cathedrals, the afterlife… everyone has their own opinions and perceptions of these places. I love them as settings and seeing how writers describe them!

I hope authors are checking the blogs today! Or maybe a future writer!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Settings I’d Like To See More Of”

  1. Ooooh I totally agree on so many! I LOVE books in airports – for some reason it’s always exciting (and reminds me of Statistical).
    I’m totally interested in books at sea/on the ocean and love reading books about where I live!!

    Like

  2. I’d like to see more books taking place at sea as well! There are only a few books with this setting that come to mind, but I’ve loved those. It’s also a setting most of us don’t experience very often, which I think makes it all the more interesting.

    Like

  3. Lots of great setting ideas! Airports are particularly appealing to me in books, though not so much in real life 🙂 I’d love to read books set in the Caribbean and Scotland. Hope we see more of these settings.

    Like

  4. I’m totally with you on Ireland and Scotland! Those used to be instant purchases when I was in high school. Mostly because of the dreamy FMC’s love interest, but whatever.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

