To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten IT’S MY BIRTHDAY Tuesday!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

OMGIT’SMYBIRTHDAYANDI’MFREAKINGOUT!!!!

Since it’s my birthday, I thought I would deviate from today’s Top Ten Topic and make up one of my own. Because not only is IT MY BIRTHDAY (in case you missed that), it’s also my 30th BIRTHDAY! I’ve been looking forward to it for months now and am so super excited to say see ya, siyonarah, hit the road to my 20s.

Today’s Top Ten are the Ten most awesome thing that happened in 1983:

Return of the Jedi premiers – I’d say this is my favorite of the Star Wars movies, mostly because Han and Lea get together and Luke is extra hot in the black. Yeah, I’m kinda shallow like that.

Beat It by Michael Jackson was a hit – My aunt, who isn’t THAT much older than me, had this song on a 45 (yeah, I know what that is!) and my cousin and I would listen to it over and over. I always thought they said “Eat It!”

Sally Ride became the first woman in SpaceΒ – Girl power! IN SPAAACCEEE!

Nintendo Entertainment System debuts in Japan – Nintendo changed my life, man. Granted, NES didn’t hit the states for a couple years, and it wasn’t until a couple years later that we got one, but still! Many a childhood memory features playing Super Mario Bros!

MY LITTLE PONY – These were my favorite toy ever. Except for Care Bears. And Strawberry Shortcake. MLP was my favorite of 1983 though! (True story: my first birthday party was a Care Bears party! My 5th birthday party was a My Little Pony party!)

Mickey’s Christmas Carol came out – This is my FAVORITE Christmas cartoon! I love Mickey’s daughter in it.

He-Man and the Master of the Universe came on TV – “By the Power of Grayskull, I HAVE THE POWER”

Michael Jackson’s Thriller came out – Exciting future gleeks around the world.

A Christmas Story came out – Ohhhh Fuuudddggggeeee

I was born – Best thing to happen in 1983

Happy birthday to meeeee!

20 thoughts on “Top Ten IT’S MY BIRTHDAY Tuesday!”

  1. 1. I have never seen Star Wars (please don’t stop being my friend)
    2. Nintendo is only the BEST THING TO EVER BE INVENTED. EVER!!! Yeahh Zelda ❀
    3. Little Pony was and still is, the shit.
    4. I can't believe you mentioned Mickey's Christmas Carol…have we talked about this? This was my FAVORITE Christmas movie growing up and I can't find it ANYWHERE. I have been trying to buy it for my brother for years!! "With nuts!"
    5. I have also never seen A Christmas Story (see number 1)
    6. I AM SO HAPPY THAT YOU WERE BORN!

    Have the best day!

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday my dear friend!!!! First off, Return of the Jedi is the awesomest of all the Stars Wars movies for the reasons you listed and more. Second, I love Mickey Mouse and we watch Mickey’s Christmas Carol even during non-Christmas times. Love that movie!

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday! Yay for being born and turning 30! MLP is very popular with my daughter and her friends- they’ve really stood the test of time.
    Hope this year is the most awesome ever, Candice!

    Like

  4. Well, don’t I feel like the super awkward young person that doesn’t know what some of the things on your last are haha. But HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! And even though I wasn’t even close to being alive, I bet 1983 was an awesome year, because of course you were there.

    Like

      1. Haha, don’t feel old! I don’t know what Return of the Jedi is. Wait. Omg I’m so dumb it’s a Star Wars movie. LOL. I’ve never seen those though. And I didn’t read your little blurb after hahaha. Also I don’t know what Mickey’s Christmas Carol or He-Man is. But I know the other ones πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. Oohhh… so many awesome things happened that year. It’s also the year my brother was born – but I’m not sure that’s all that great a thing /jokes.

    Happy birthday.great list!

    And how great are carebears. I bought my first one 6 years ago… when I turned 19…. they’re still relevant… πŸ˜€

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

