Dystopian, Young Adult

Don’t expect a rose ceremony out of this book

The Selection by Kiera Cass

selection

The Skinny: The Selection is a once in a lifetime opportunity for 35 girls, a chance to win the heart of Prince Maxon and become a princess. But America Singer doesn’t want this chance. She only wants to be with her love, Aspen. But he is a caste below her and to marry him would mean a life of poverty and hardship. America finds herself Selected, wrapped up in a world she never wanted. But as she gets to know Prince Maxon, what she wanted doesn’t seem so clear to her any longer.

BFF?: I TOTALLY loved America! I loved how determined she was, how she knew her own mind and, even if it seemed to change over time, what she wanted out of life. She didn’t try to be anyone else, didn’t let herself change for the worst under the pressures of the Selection, and for that she began to develop into this woman who really began to shine.

Readability: Couldn’t put this one down. America’s voice was clear and fresh, open and exciting. I loved seeing the process of the Selection through her and all the happenings of the palace.

Crush Level: 7
So, even though I’m pretty sure I hated the fact that he was basically dating 35 girls at once, there was something about Prince Maxon that I totally loved. I think it was the fact that he was torn between so much in his life but still held onto who he was as a person. I loved seeing him develop as he and America became friends and how he genuinely began to care for her. Definitely looking forward to more from him!

Bonus Points:

Castes
Caste-Contemp-Society

I’m not really a huge fan of castes or caste systems, but I liked how this one was done, with each caste only being allowed to do one thing – for example, all 5s, which America was, could only do artistic things. It was kind of interesting.

The Bachelor
bachelor
I hate shows like the Bachelor, but really loved seeing it played out here. Call me crazy, but it just worked for this plot.

Secret Signals

signals

As America and Maxon become closer friends, they develop a secret signal whenever they want to hang out or talk. It becomes super cute throughout the book and made me smile.

Commencement Speech: I’ve checked this one out a few times and honestly just haven’t read it. I know. Bad me. Because I’ve WANTED to read it but there have been so many other books! Thank goodness I had Christmas break to sit down and read it because I honestly LOVED this one! It was kind of dazzling and exciting, different from what I’ve been reading which was nice. I loved that although it was sort of dystopian, it wasn’t all doom and gloom. I wasn’t a fan of the love triangle though, and as you can see above, I prefer Maxon over Aspen. Aspen was too much like Gale (Hunger Games) for me to like. All in all, I can’t wait for more from this series and all that it holds!

Yearbook Quote: “But you should know the love can wear away under the stress of being married. Someone you think you love now, you might start to hate when he couldn’t take care of your children, it’d be even worse. Love doesn’t always survive under those circumstances.”
Superlatives: Most likely to get a rose
Like this post? You may like these:
cinder   The Goddess Test   wither
6 thoughts on “Don’t expect a rose ceremony out of this book”

    1. I was really surprised how much I actually enjoyed it. It was far from perfect, but had a really good story I thought. And it didn’t hurt that I kept picturing William Mosely as Prince Maxon! Yummo! 🙂

      Like

  1. I’ve kind of been interested in this book for a while, but the names KILL me. I have a hard time reading something if I can’t stand the names haha. I’ve heard very differing opinions about this book; some love it, others hate it. I’m glad to hear you liked it!

    Like

    1. Ha, the names are kind of terrible, but they weren’t really a hindrance in the book. It’s definitely a book you either love or hate, but I really did enjoy it. It was a fast read too, which was nice!

      Like

  2. Hm, this is one of those books that I seem to see everywhere I go– I think it’s something about the cover that catches the eye. But it sounds kind of intriguing, especially the caste thing and the competition aspect. Maybe I’ll try it this summer.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

