Young Adult

Selective Collective Christmas Party!

Merry Christmas, SC gals!

scchristmas

We wanted to have a little Christmas get-together, via our blogs, and share some Christmas cheer with each other! You can check out their blogs too to see what kind of Christmas fun they’ve prepared!

Tee @ YA Crush
Daphne & Kristina @ Gone Pecan

Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Sandie & Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks

First, we decided to play Secret Santa, which I totally LOVE! Check out the goodies I got from my Secret Santa, Brittany over at The Book Addict’s Guide!

photo(8)

Since she’s from the Chicago area, she sent me a coffee mug that says Chicago on it with lots of different iconic pictures, as well as a post card! Which is great because I collect them! (don’t think she knew that going in!)

She also sent me these fantastic pictures which I LOVE LOVE LOVE! They’re prints of poppies that are printed on, are you ready for this? Pages from a book! It has totally inspired some bookish decorating ideas!

And finally, she was completely awesome and sent me a couple of books by Jenny Han – which I’ve really been wanting to read – that are AUTOGRAPHED! She also sent me her copy of Reached to borrow, which I’m super pumped about!

Thanks so much, B! Love my gifts!

And now for some Christmas goodies for you! Here are a couple of my FAVORITE Christmas treats you might want to make for your own Christmas party!

Molasses Cookies – a MUST in my house!

  • 3/4 cup margarine, melted
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  1. In a medium bowl, mix together the melted margarine, 1 cup sugar, and egg until smooth. Stir in the molasses. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and ginger; blend into the molasses mixture. Cover, and chill dough for 1 hour.
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Roll dough into walnut sized balls, and roll them in the remaining white sugar. Place cookies 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets (or onto parchment paper lined sheets).
  3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, until tops are cracked. Cool on wire racks.

I got this recipe originally from this site, but we’ve been making them for years so they’re definitely tried and true and delicious!

Another yum yum yummy treat that’s big in our house is homemade Chocolate Covered Cherries! My pal Alyssa over at Books Take You Places posted a guest post I wrote on how to make them. You should check it out and make some of your own!

Hope you all have a very merry Christmas! And a very special Christmas to my SC ladies! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Selective Collective Christmas Party!”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

