Young Adult

2013 Classics Challenge

Since I’ve been blogging I’ve noticed that I am totally lacking in the classic books department.

True story: I have never read Pride and Prejudice. Gasp! I know, right?

There are several other books that I’ve always wanted to read, have LOVED the movie versions of them, but just never brought myself to read them.

So for 2013, I’ve decided that I’m going to challenge myself to read one classic book a month for a total of 12 books. I didn’t know if there was any formal book challenge out there, and if there is PLEASE let me know so I can sign up for it, but thought I’d make it for myself anyway!

January – Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

February – Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

March – Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

April – Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

May – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

June – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

July – Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

August – Emma by Jane Austen

September – Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

October – Dracula by Bram Stoker

November – Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

December – A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

master thespian

Oh, and if there’s not a Classics Challenge out there and you’d like to do this with me, let me know! We can cheer each other on! πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “2013 Classics Challenge”

  1. I think there is a formal challenge that I saw floating around??? But I can’t for the life of me remember who’s hosting it.
    Maybe I should work in another challenge for 2013. I just have DAC right now… I can’t read classics though πŸ˜› lol

    Like

  2. Awesome idea! I’ve read a few of these:

    P&P – my favorite book ever!
    Jane Eyre – very good, although I do think the beginning is a little boring
    To Kill a Mockingbird – amazing.

    I do want to read Jane Austen’s other books, but I never have. I also have been wanting to read Little Women forever, but again, I just haven’t gotten to it yet.

    Good luck on your reading challenge!

    Like

  3. I was thinking about doing something similar next year, because I really need to read more classics. I LOVE Jane Austen and To Kill A Mockingbird and Jane Eyre are also great. I’m looking forward to seeing your reviews for everything!

    Like

  4. fantastic idea! i really want to read the rest of jane austen’s books, I’ve already read P&P and S&S. I really want to read Persuasion because I loved the movie. And i really need to read Jane Eyre. but otherwise, I’ve read seven of these books and i hate wuthering heights, and Anna Karenina looks very daunting…good luck.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

