Young Adult

Help me friends! You’re my only hope!

Taking advantage of having a blog today and asking for some help with something personal, non-book (well, not really) related.

I am working on a decorating project for my bedroom. What I want to do is hang a cluster of frames on one of my walls with quotes in them. I’ve got a few quotes I want to use – ones I’ve always liked – but wanted to incorporate some bookish quotes too!

What are some that you’d suggest? Anyone have any particularly favorite ones? I’d love to know!

ryan gosling

12 thoughts on “Help me friends! You’re my only hope!”

      1. “Love isn’t something you have to deserve.”
        ― Jennifer Echols, Such a Rush (I had to include this one hahah)

        And if you like John Green, I love this one:

        “Thomas Edison’s last words were ‘It’s very beautiful over there’. I don’t know where there is, but I believe it’s somewhere, and I hope it’s beautiful.”
        ― John Green, Looking for Alaska

        Like

  1. From Matilda:
    “The books transported her into new worlds and introduced her to amazing people who lived exciting lives. She went on olden-day sailing ships with Joseph Conrad. She went to Africa with Ernest Hemingway and to India with Rudyard Kipling. She travelled all over the world while sitting in her little room in an English village.”

    Like

  2. UMMMM so I am obsessed with this and can’t wait to move so I can decorate my house in bookish art aka quotes all over the place….This post just made me so happy. Turned my whole day around. I am OBSESSED with quotes so here ya go ;]

    My all time favorite bookish quote:

    I’m tired of being strong.” She laughed at me, laughed as if I was ridiculous. “You are what you are,” She said. – Juliet Marillier, Daughter of the Forest

    Some other favorites:

    “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” – J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone

    “…looking at him makes her feel like laughing all over – as if she could laugh not just with her mouth but with her eyes, her heart, her very limbs.” – Gregory Maguire, Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister

    “Stories are wild creatures, the monster said. When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?” – Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls

    “How blessed are some people, whose lives have no fears, no dreads; to whom sleep is a blessing that comes nightly, and brings nothing but sweet dreams.” – Bram Stoker, Dracula

    “Your soul sings to mine. My soul is yours, and it always will be, in any world. No matter what happens. I need you to remember that I love you.” – Laini Taylor, Daughter of Smoke and Bone

    “Watch that boy,” she said. “You’re stronger in many ways, but that doesn’t mean he can’t take you apart.” Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

    “She was fierce, to be sure, but she had a girl’s heart, after all.” – Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

    See? OBSESSED.

    Like

  3. “Marilla, isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?” -Anne of Green Gables

    “Isn’t it splendid to think of all the things there are to find out about?” -Anne of Green Gables

    I’m sure there’s a ton of other great quotes from the Anne series, these are just the two I thought of first.

    Like

  4. OMG CANDICE. I’ll gladly leave some of my favorite bookish quotes–because I LOVE quotes to death–as long as you pinky swear infinity promise to share some pictures of the finished product! I can’t wait to see it!!

    “Youth cannot know how age thinks or feels. But old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young.” –JK Rowling, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

    “The sky is everywhere. It begins at your feet”–Jandy Nelson, The Sky Is Everywhere (Seriously, literally ANY of the words from this book)

    “Happiness. It was the place where passion, with all its dazzle and drumbeat, met something softer: homecoming and safety and pure sunbeam comfort. It was all those things, intertwined with the heat and the thrill, and it was as bright within her as a swallowed star.”–Laini Taylor, DoSaB

    “We laugh and laugh, and nothing can ever be sad, no one can be lost, or dead, or far away: right now we are here, and nothing can mar our perfection, or steal the joy of this perfect moment.”–Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife

    Candice, I could keep going forever. I hope you get some good quotes for your wall of AWESOME!

    Like

    1. Eep! These are SO great! Thanks so much!!! I’ll definitely be posting pictures of it because so many people have left me some great quotes! I can’t wait to get started on it!

      Like

  5. If you like writing, there’s one by Hemingway that I really like: “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.” It makes me grin and nod a bit too hard.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

