Young Adult

Post NaNoWriMo: Day 3 – WINNER!!!

I PROMISE I’m not going to continue with these updates. I just wanted to write a small post about my experience participating in National Novel Writing Month for the very first (and hopefully not the last!) time.

nanowin

I went into it a little hesitant, not really knowing what I was getting myself into. And believe me, after about a week of barely writing anything and not really enjoying it, I was ready to throw in the towel.

But then slowly I began to force myself to write more and more and before I knew it, I was IN LOVE with what I was writing! I found myself WANTING to write, WANTING to know what was going to happen next to my characters. They began to take on shapes and personalities that sometimes took me by completely surprise.

Like everything, nothing is done alone. I had some fabulous support and super writing friends!

My Selective Collective ladies were awesome cheerleaders, especially towards then end when I got all panicky and sent emails out with how many words I had left and wailing that I didn’t think I could do it!

Susan Dennard and Sarah J. Mass held 30 minute writing battles, which were a) awesome because I’m SUPER competitive and b) incredibly helpful because it gave me an excuse to write my heart out.

And finally, Alexa from Alexa Loves Books. I honestly don’t think I could’ve gotten through this past month without her constant cheering me on and support. I loved getting to know her more!

Overall I loved NaNoWriMo and winning was one of the proudest moments I’ve had in a long while!

And, just for funsies, I thought I’d share with you a little of what I’ve been working on! It’s still a little rough, so excuse that!

“We’re going to have visitors tonight,” the princess chirped, skipping to her mother.

            “Oh we are?” asked the queen, raising an eyebrow at her daughter. “And who is going to be visiting us?”

            The princess shrugged and slipped her hand into her mother’s. They walked into the gardens, where the princess let go of her mother and began running through the bushes.

            The queen watched her daughter play, laughing at her giggles that filled the air. The princess’s light brown hair floated over her shoulders as she spun in circles. She stopped suddenly and fell to the ground, grasping her head, her fingers woven frantically into her hair. The queen hurried to her, alarmed, and sank next to her daughter.

            “What is it? What’s wrong?” she asked, patting her daughter to check for injuries.

            “Visitors. They’re coming. They’re mad,” the princess answered. When she lifted her head, the queen gasped, horrified. The princess’s eyes, normally a cheerful blue, were glowing white.

15 thoughts on “Post NaNoWriMo: Day 3 – WINNER!!!”

  1. NOOOOO YOU DID NOT!! CONGRATS!! You are amazing, I can’t even tell you how awesome I think you are! Maybe next time I will have my ish together and will join you in the winners circle!! You totes need to buy a WINNER shirt and wear it with pride!!

    Also I want to read more of you story, please!!

    Seriously, you rock!

    Like

    1. Yes I did!!! I nearly pulled a Rocky moment and did a fists in the air run around my office when I got to 50k! It was totally a great feeling knowing I hit my goal. I hope you’ll be able to participate one day too!

      And you can totally read more of my story… you know, when I finally get it to not look like a hot mess! 🙂

      Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

