Young Adult

NaNoWriMo Day 28: In the home stretch

In just 3 days NaNoWriMo will be over and I will be at 50,000 words.

Except I’m not really close to it and I feel like I’ve written my entire story, beginning, middle, and end.

And I’m only at 32,939.
Le sigh. What is a girl to do?

I know part of NaNoWriMo is to just write, not worry about editing or it even sounding good, but what do you do when you really can’t write anymore? When you really are at the end and to keep going would only f-up your story and drag it out? Call me crazy, but I just can’t do that.

Oh, I have a little left of the end to write. Can’t very well let it end as it is. But I’m thinking it’s only going to be maaaaybe 2-3,000 more words. Which would be fantastic, but I’d still be lacking 15,000!

One thing I haven’t really felt much of in my story is the relationship development between the two MCs. So that may get a few more scenes added. And then there’s a couple of secondary characters I REALLY want to flesh out.

I super hate writing scenes out of order, but feel like with the time crunch to finish – and I WILL finish (I want a tshirt, man!) – this may be the only way to actually meet my word count AND satisfy my need for a better developed story.

So wish me luck friends as I enter into the final days of NaNoWriMo! I’ll admit, it’s been a rocky month with writing but I have thoroughly enjoyed it and the journey my writing has taken me on so far!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 28: In the home stretch”

Comments make me happy, as do you!

