Paranormal, Young Adult

Crimey, we’re jimmy-jacked!

The Diviners by Libba Bray

The Skinny: Sent to New York to live with her uncle, Evie sees this as an opportunity to escape to the high life of the Big Apple. She soon finds herself enjoying the glamorous life in the city, going to speakeasies, shopping, and running around with her new pal Theta, who happens to be a Zeigfried girl, and BFF Mabel. But when a string of mysterious murders start occurring, Evie finds herself smack dab in the middle of the investigation with her Uncle Will. Joined by a unique cast of characters, can Evie and her uncle solve the mysterious murders before it’s too late?

BFF?: Although there are like a BILLION characters in this book, the two I really felt I connected with were Evie and Theta. Evie, to me, seemed like the poster child of the 20s. Although it got a little annoying at times, I adored her way of talking, all the 20s cliches she used. She was bubbly and catchy and spunky, which was seriously adorable. Theta was similar in that she could be a poster child of the 20s, but more like the glamorous/scandalous 20s I find myself drawn to. Theta was a Zeigfried girl, which I guess was a thing in the 20s, with a past. Although she seemed a little jaded, I loved how witty she was, always there with a line. I would have loved to have gotten to know more about her honestly; I just really loved her story.

Readability: Even thought it to me. FOR.EV.ER to read this book, I enjoyed every minute of it. Bray’s writing kind of sucks you in at times, keeping you deep in this world she’s created. There were parts that were so flowing and descriptive that I honestly found myself in 1920 New York, but then there were dialogues and interactions between the characters that felt so fun and exciting that it was like watching an old movie.

Crush Level: ???
I have no idea who to crush on in this book. Sam, the loveable pickpocket who Evie meets at the train station. Jericho, the hunky research assistant of Evie’s uncle who has a mysterious past. Memphis, the boy from Harlem who has a secret. Henry, the piano player who, despite being gay, is super duper. As you can see, they all sound pretty great, no?

Bonus Points:

1920s

I’m not really sure why, but recently I have really enjoyed all things 1920s. There’s just something about this era that’s so glamorous and exciting. Maybe it’s the rush of breaking the rules, going against the grain, feeling free. Maybe it’s the clothes, the dancing, the lifestyle. I have no idea, but whatever it is, it’s exciting! G

Museum of Weird Stuff

Evie’s uncle is the curator at The Museum of American Folklore, Superstition, and the Occult, which houses all things creepy. I loved the fact that a) there’s a museum like this and b) a good chunk of the book takes place in this weird museum.

Religious Murders

Probably not the BEST Bonus Point, but I really enjoy when there are killers who base their murders on religious stuff. Kind of like the DaVinci Code. The murders in in The Diviners are all leading up to this huge, end of the world whatever that is super spooky and leads you on a completely wild ride.

Commencement Speech: As I already mentioned, it took me FOREVER to read this book. And at almost 600 pages, it’s wonder! But enjoy it I did! I had forgotten just how much I love Bray’s writing, the way she’s able to take realistic events and places and swirl them into this fantastical world of magic, mystery, and astonishment. In the author’s note at the end of the book she talks about how much research went into writing The Diviners and believe me, you can tell. Bray managed to recreate 1920s New York City perfectly. There were so many times I could see myself there, see the speakeasies and the movie theaters, hear the music that played late into the night. And the spooky elements? DON’T GET ME STARTED! They were perfect in every way. During some of the scenes where Evie goes investigating I felt myself wanting to cover my eyes and yell “Don’t go in there!”
Overall, I truly, truly enjoyed this book. It was a perfect escape from the norm and into a new, familiar world filled with mystery, adventure, and jazz
Yearbook Quote: “When the world moves forward too fast for some people, they try to pull us all back with their fear…”
Superlatives: Most likely to be all that jazz
Like this post? You may like these:
     
9 thoughts on “Crimey, we’re jimmy-jacked!”

  1. I love the 1920s so I’m definitely interested – and all the spooky stuff sounds great! But I need to wait a while before picking up a 600+ page book lol. I’m burned out on long books for now! 🙂

    Like

  2. OKAY I have an ARC of this from BEA and I have been wary to start it because 1. it is so long and 2. it is the beginning of a series but you have made me want to rush home and start it TONIGHT!! I love the 1920’s so I can’t imagine not loving this book but be honest, is there a cliffhanger ending? I am afraid I will get too ATTACHED and then be PINING for ages…ya know what I mean??

    Like

  3. I can’t wait to read this book! At first it didn’t sound something I’d totally love, but your review makes it sound like it’s great! I haven’t read a book by Bray in quite a while, so I’m excited to get lost in her world again.

    Like

  4. Did you get the idea that even though Evie is kissing Jericho, she’s not omg true-lurve-forever deal? I think that’s what won me over. Also, I hear you on the spooky elements, man. This was the first book, in ages, that scared me with its villain. I kinda wanted Memphis and Evie to end up smooching at least once because he sounds so deliciously complex and complex is Evie’s middle name. Theta, too, is wonderful and I would love to know more of her story. I wonder if the next book is going to be from her perspective. It was a huge book but it was so incredibly satisfying, that I couldn’t complain.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

