To Do Lists, Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’m Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they come up with a topic and invite whoever wants to add their own list to their own blog.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve no doubt seen the 21 Days of Thankfulness that’s all over Facebook. Honestly, it’s kind of driving me nuts. I’ve never been a fan of saying what I’m thankful for. I used to get irritated at my siblings who always wanted us to go around the dinner table on Thanksgiving and talk about what each of us are thankful for. Mine was always something like “I’m thankful we only have to do this once a year.”

Yeah, I’m THAT girl.

But truthfully, I am thankful, for so many things. Clearly the obvious ones: family, friends, a job, my pets… But also for books and the ability to read. Because if I didn’t have that, I think my life would truly suck.

Today’s Top Ten are the Top Ten books I am thankful for:

Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married – Out of all the books I’ve ever read, this is the one I’m most thankful for. Not only is it my favorite, it helped me during a pretty darker time when I first read it, helping me see some things about myself like no other book has.

Harry Potter – I’m thankful for this series because without it they would have never made 8 awesome movies that helped my sister and I grow closer. We went to see each movie together, spanning a 10 year period, and because of that, we have bonded like we never would have.

Twilight – Two words: Edward Cullen. Ha, I jest. But seriously, I am thankful for this book because this was the book that opened my eyes to YA lit and a world that I never would have gotten into had it not been for a sparkly vampire and his wet blanket love of his life.

The Chronicles of Narnia – No series has so much importance to me as the Narnia books. These were the books that sparked an interest in fantasy for me so many years ago, that made me appreciate my imagination and all the places it could take me.

Alright, so I can’t think of any other books I’m truly thankful for. Maybe I’m just thankful for books as a whole.

And really, if you think about it, there are 7 HP books, 4 Twilight books, 7 Narnia books… so it looks like I’m really thankful for 19 books. Yeah!

Happy Thanksgiving everybody!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’m Thankful For”

  1. I love what you wrote about Harry Potter and the movies. How awesome that they helped to bring you closer to your sister. I love when a book/movie can do something like that — and help to truly bring happiness to our lives.

    Like

  2. Haha. I’m never a fan of going around the table saying what I’m thankful for either. Sometimes it’s just too personal, and I hate talking about that stuff with a huge crowd. It’s not that I’m not thankful for many things, but discussing it with the whole family – yeah, not so much.

    I like you list. HP is definitely on my list. I think it might be on many people’s TTT! I almost listed Twilight, too. I don’t dislike the books, but they certainly aren’t my favorite. But I am thankful for them, because, like you said, I think they brought YA books to the attention of many people (not just teens, although they certainly deserve to have a teen category!). I also think HP brought a lot of attention to YA. HP made it acceptable for adults to read children’s and YA books, and also showed that children’s and teen books are often totally amazing! And then after HP was over, Twilight is there.

    Like

  3. Thanks for giving props to Twilight. It was a gateway series for me too and I suspect many of us into the YA world. Narnia was a fav of mine growing up too and will always be special to me.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  4. I love that HP brought you and your sister closer together! My hubby and I made a deal in our first year of marriage, he would read the Twilight books and I would read HP. We did and I think it made us a lot closer too. Books are the best, aren’t they? I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

