Casting Call

Casting Call: If I Stay

Casting Call is a super new feature that myself and a few of my favorite bloggers have put together! Here’s how it works: Each Friday we’ll post a different book we’ve LOVED and list who we would hope would star in it should it ever be adapted into a movie! Feel free to join in the discussion and let us know if you agree or disagree with our choices!

If I Stay by Gayle Foreman
Synopsis: In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck…


A sophisticated, layered, and heart-achingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make, and the ultimate choice Mia commands.

Casting Call:  Now, of course casting directors aren’t going to take the ideas of 6 fabulous book bloggers seriously, but if they ever decide to…. 🙂
Mia – Mia’s character is so wonderfully sweet but with this underlying edge that gives her the fight not only to hold on when she thinks she can’t, but the strength to choose between going and staying. I’d like to cast Sara Paxton as Mia. I don’t know just HOW great my pick for Mia is, but I personally like her a lot. I think she’s got this girl next door who is totally gorgeous but still able to be natural look about her and I think she could handle Mia’s struggle after the accident and her unique personality.
Just picture her with brown hair!
Adam – I may not have gotten all the swoons over Adam, but I seriously loved the way he loved Mia, how he was completely unselfish when it came to her, and how he fought to get in to see her in the hospital. He’s this punk rock kid, but loves the fact that Mia feels so much for a different type of music. When I picture him I see him as being a little edgy, kind of scary (in that punk kind of way) but with a smile that is totally approachable. When thinking about my perfect Adam, the first person who came to mind was Thomas McDonell. Sure, maybe I picked him because he kind of plays a similar character in Disney’s Prom, but c’mon… he’s total hottypants!
Mia’s Dad – Mia’s dad may be my favorite character in this series. He is an ex-punk drummer turned middle school teacher/father knows best. He traded in his leather and chains for tweed and sweaters. And he’s kind of awesome. Like, REALLY awesome. So naturally, when I pictured Mia’s dad, I thought of Michael Sheen from one of my favorite movies, The Laws of Attraction, where he plays (you guessed it) a punk rocker. I think Michael Sheen could pull off Mia’s dad’s ex-rocker turned old man look and personality!
Check out who my other Casting Call comrades have picked for their cast!
Maggie & Dixie @ Gone Pecan          Sandie @ Teen Lit Rocks  

            Tee @ Ya Crush            Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

6 thoughts on “Casting Call: If I Stay”

  1. I love your choice for Mia! And Thomas McDonnell…I would watch Prom fifty more times just because I thought that storyline with him and Aimee Teegarden was so darn cute. Hottypants!

    Like

  2. ooh, sara paxton is so pretty, kinda sweet looking, but she could totally kick your butt. good call. and thomas, i do love him in prom. also, you cast a vampire for dad, but i can see it. great job!

    Like

  3. Great choices. I was just thinking about this book the other day – at one point it was going to be a Summit movie with Catherine Hardwicke directing and Dakota Fanning starring but I guess it all fell apart. I love your choice of Thomas McDonnell as Adam.

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

