Dystopian, Young Adult

Books I Can’t Review: The Chaos Walking Trilogy

Do you ever come across a book that is just so perfect you know that no words will do them justice? I know I do!

One series that I absolutely loved was the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. I wanted to review this one oh so badly, but knew that no matter what I said about these books, my words would do them no justice. Nothing I could say would capture the beauty of them.

But what makes them so beautiful? Looking back at them, they were rough, they were gritty, they tugged at my heart in the worst way. I got angry at them, I cried over them, I wanted to hit or scream at them. So how are these things beautiful?

Over the past year of blogging I’ve become so much more of an emotional reader, investing myself in characters that bring out both the best and worst in me. But usually it’s tears and sadness that books bring out of me, not rough and gritty emotions (can you tell I love those words!).

Following Todd and Viola was like watching younger siblings grow up and realizing how strong they are. There were moments when I sat back and thought “Wow. Look at them.” Their trials were great but their triumphs were greater. And while I mostly wanted to cheer for them, to encourage them, there were times when I wanted to yell at them, to tell them to stop acting certain ways. I don’t think I’ve felt quite so protective of characters as I do for Todd and Violet.

Another thing that stuck with me and didn’t let me go was the world Todd and Viola lived in. Being able to hear others’ thoughts sounds incredibly scary. Others being able to hear my thoughts sounds even scarier. Between that and Mistress Coyle and Mayor/President Prentiss, the world was fearful, angry, and at times lethal. I found myself feeling intense hatred, something I rarely feel over books, towards the leaders of this world and the actions of the people.

There were times that I had to stop reading these books, to get a hold of my emotions or just to escape from the world Ness created. But as soon as I stepped away, I longed for Todd and Viola. I needed them and knew they needed me. I had found a connection with these books like none other.

7 thoughts on “Books I Can’t Review: The Chaos Walking Trilogy”

  1. WHAT’S WRONG WITH ME lol. I just sent a CC email saying that I can’t get into the second book right now. I put it down and I’m so not motivated to pick it back up. Maybe I just haven’t gotten to the good part yet? Or I’m not in the mood for it at the moment?? I really liked the first but I’m dragging my feet on the second. Hmmmm

    Like

    1. I dragged my feet getting to read the second one, but once I got into it I couldn’t stop reading it. I think you really do have to be in the mood though; as you can see they are very moody books!

      Like

  2. All I can say is I KNOW!!!! I reviewed these, but I never felt I was able to put them into words. And what’s funny is when I describe them to people, the premise just sounds so weird and they’re like, “um, okay” and I can’t properly express how amazing they are!!!!

    Like

  3. I can’t believe I still haven’t read these. I have all three on my shelves but the hype has always scared me.
    I feel you though; I have the hardest time reviewing the books I enjoyed the most. My words can’t express my love with justice!

    Like

Comments make me happy, as do you!

